We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a feed”
Review of Coyote Joe's

Coyote Joe's
Ranked #32 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a feed”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It was huge....well for us it was. Pickup and return to town organised by our concierge. Seems like it was a locals eatery.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank overtemp927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    42
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neosho, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit, okay food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food was ok, The outdoor seating was nice. I have nothing to hate on, nor anything to recommend it. It was... nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“American Mexican food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

There are better choices for Mexican food on the island. Just ask anyone in the service industry and they will point you out

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taco tuesday!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I went to this place every Tuesday for 6 months whilst I was on the island. Cheap as chips, absolutely wonderful food, all the nachos you can eat. Potato tacos for the vegetarians are a real treat, especially when drowned in Cholula. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Get yourself down there on a Tuesday, get a nice cold PBR, nachos and a few tacos, and say hi to Makas for me!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food and Service not that great :/”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I read the not so great reviews prior but we decided to check this place out anyways. Unfortunately I have to agree with other reviewers, the food was not that great (very very bland). The service was not great either, it took a few minutes upon walking in for someone to tell us where to sit and then service at the table was very slow. I would definitely look at other Mexican restaurants on the island first before going here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coyote Joe's also viewed

 
Catalina Island, CA
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Coyote Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing