We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique building”

Catalina Island Casino
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The iconic Catalina Casino epitomizes everything glamorous about Santa Catalina Island.On the lower level the building features extraordinary Art Deco murals and a classic 1929 pipe organ inside the Avalon Theatre, which still shows movies on its massive screen.The top level of this 12 story high architectural wonder features the beautiful, world-famous Casino Ballroom, a masterpiece of design and a long-standing venue for the world’s best musical performers and big bands. It is also a popular venue for weddings and special events. The only access to the building is through an exclusive Casino Tour offered through Discovery Tours. Once on the tour you’ll soon understand why many call this the most romantic place in Catalina.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A unique building”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We took the tour, including the movie theatre. It's art deco at its most dramatic. Well worth the price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Consumerguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    153
    32
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Art Deco”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Bought tickets online a month in advance - and the tour times changed! Double check times when you arrive on island so you don't miss it. Luckily we caught the Behind the Scenes tour and loved the theater, ballroom, and other private rooms. Guide was informative and funny. This is the crown jewel of Catalina, so everyone should go on one of the tours to see it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“30 minute tour”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The casino is such a focal point of Avalon that we decided we really wanted to take a tour and see the inside. The behind the scenes tour was already sold out for the day so we settled for the 30 min. tour. We got to see the beautiful movie theatre and lobby and the incredible dance floor upstairs. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, we learned a lot about the building and Avalon, but like everyone we encountered at the casino, could have been just a little more friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 29kindergartencuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a flick”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

*Notice* It is not an actual casino! While staying on the island for several days, we decided to go check out the "casino". I didn't really do my homework before I went there, so I was actually hoping to get some gambling in. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it was a movie theatre and not a real casino. We went ahead and caught a movie while we were there and it was awesome. They only play one movie (they only have one screen) and change it once every week or two. It has a old theatre feel and is pretty cool. The theatre itself is huge and allows for large crowds to watch the movie. Don't be late though, doors close 30 minutes and the movie starts and they do NOT let anyone in!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Grand old building”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are interested in movie theaters, ballrooms, or Art Deco, this is a must see. Take the tour and see the theater and the ballroom inside this lovely building. It is very picturesque inside and out. Most of it is all original and extremely well-preserved. It isn't hard to imagine 1940's big bands performing there with the ballroom filled with dancers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Squidhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catalina Island Casino also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Island Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing