We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay! The hotel staff was very accommodating for our visit and the room was incredible! We had a blast and we walked everywhere the whole stay. We will definitely stay here again in the future! It was in a convenient location with tons of room, there are many activites for kids and adults right next to the hotel. So glad I found this place! Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    141
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
225
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I got a terrific rate by calling the hotel directly for my early February trip to Catalina (Price was much lower than I found online at discount websites). As you might imagine, Catalina Island is sparsely populated at that time of year (but still beautiful). The hotel offered a package deal which included two round-trip ferry tickets and a lovely room with a fireplace and balcony. Hotel is within walking distance of the ferry and located right in front of the ocean. Room was large, perfectly clean and tastefully decorated. The balcony overlooked a small shopping mall, and wasn't what I would call peaceful. However, it was still nice to step outside and test the weather. In the morning, we heard loud hip hop music from a spin class taking place in the mall. The rooftop hot tub was only lukewarm, so we skipped it. I would imagine that in peak season this place is pretty lively. However, we enjoyed the sleepy winter quiet. The friendly receptionist gave excellent recommendations and arranged for our discounted tickets to the zip lines. Breakfast was just OK - you must take it back to your room from a buffet table. We opted to go to a waffle house instead. I sized up the other hotels on the waterfront (there aren't many), and I'm pretty confident we made a good choice. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for specials - you will get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our high school just spent the most fantastic school retreat at hotel metropole! The hotel and staff were excellent!! Right in the the center of town, the location could not be better! The hotel itself is quaint and beautiful. The staff (and owners) were a delight to work with! They were gracious and accommodating to our many needs and, from handing out forgotten toiletries, to bringing extra tables and chairs, and anything else we needed. They went totally above and beyond the call of duty by extending our check out time when we were in a pinch. I would totally recommend this hotel to any group and appreciate them for helping us create a meaningful and very memorable school retreat!! Thank you!

Room Tip: Each room has its own twist, some with a fire place, some are more spacious. Speak to the excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I am literally just back from a spectacular weekend stay at the hotel metropole. I was in charge Of planning a 75 person retreat. We used the beach house, conference room and 18 guest rooms. Every single part Of the hotel was clean and stunning. The breakfast in the morning was included and set out early. The staff was extremely helPful. Maria and her crew are the best. I cannot thank them enough for everything. Really a first class stay with very reasonable prices!!! FYI the location couldn't be better. So happy we stayed here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherof55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the wonderful Hotel Metropole. I was part of a large group that stayed at the hotel, and everything about our stay was perfect. The staff attended to every detail and really went out of their way to take care of our group. I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michoel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. It's in a good location with quite a few restaurants around it. The entrance to the hotel was a little hard to find at first but once we got there, the staff was very friendly. The room was cute and very clean and seemed to be recently updated. The bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to spend a couple of days on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great view of the ocean and excellent hotel and excellent room The hot tub on the top floor with the ocean view was awesome We had a great time. The only aspect that might need a little attention is the breakfast area as it was being served almost at the lobby/hotel entrance in the cold and there was no space where we could sit & eat

NIKK

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing