We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure they don't stick you in room 217.”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Make sure they don't stick you in room 217.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

It opens up directly to the hotel lobby & street. You hear all of the other guests comings and goings. Not at all ideal for a romantic getaway.

Highly disappointed that the staff has done absolutely nothing to improve our accommodations, even after we requested another room. Was really looking forward to this, and I'm sad to have to tell my friend who recommended the hotel that it was not pleasant.

To add insult to injury, when i first booked the room they quoted me a rate that was much higher than what is published on their site. I agreed to the rate b/c my friend had recommended it so highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ACT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    142
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
100
226
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel Metropole is located right on Avalon's main boardwalk in the Metropole plaza, which also includes an arcade and a few little restaurants and shops. Our room was nice - comfortable bed, fireplace, good water pressure in the shower. The only downside was that all the windows in our room were blocked by planters, so we had no view, but it's not like we spent much time in the room anyway. Our room was also right by the front desk, so it was a little noisy in the morning, but still tolerable.

They have a nice little jacuzzi on the top floor and a decent continental breakfast. Everyone at the front desk was also very helpful with giving tips on what to do around the island.

I took points off because even though we requested to stay 2 nights when we made our reservation on Metropole's web-site, they only booked us for one night. Luckily, my boyfriend noticed that his credit card was only charged for one night so that we had time to scramble and book our second night at another hotel before every other place was completely booked, since Metropole had no vacancy on our second night. There was also a strange lady in the jacuzzi when we went, who had clearly had a lot to drink and was not very stable and started harassing my boyfriend, so much so that my boyfriend and I, as well as another couple in the jacuzzi felt so uncomfortable that we all got out and returned to our rooms. I have no idea if this was a local who snuck in to the jacuzzi (not too hard to do) or another hotel guest who was a little off her rocker.

I would consider staying at Metropole again the next time I return to Catalina, but I would call to confirm my reservation and not just rely on booking through the web-site.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylmar, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent the weekend in Avalon to celebrate boyfriend's birthday in conjunction with the Free ferry ride from Catalina Express...got up insanely early to drive to Long Beach and catch the 6:15 a.m. boat...(wanting to maximize our time on the island)...we arrived bleary-eyed in Avalon and walked the short walk to the hotel, intending just to stash our bags until check-in...we were delighted when told that though it was only 8 a.m our room was ready and we could go on up!
So that combined with the birthday discount made us instantly happy with this hotel...our room was described as courtyard view (2 queen beds., fireplace and tiny balcony) but we could also see a bit of the water and the Casino building...everything was clean, the beds were super comfy, and despite the allegations made by some people regarding the honesty of the housekeeping staff...well, we accidently left cash and gold jewelry in plain sight and it was still there when we came back to our cleaned room.. All in all, we were super happy with the hotel, great location, and a beautiful view of the harbor from the adorable 4th floor deck...which was not crowded at all while we were there...granted it's still the low season; it's probably way more crowded in the summer. This was our first trip to the Island (which is scandalous since we are both native los angelenos) but we're hoping it won't be our last...and we would definitely stay at the metropole again...unless we head to the campground! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewood, ca
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I live in long beach so catalina is a trip i can make a few times a year... for the past two years i couldnt be happier with the Hotel Metropole. The folks there are extremely accomodating, friendly and professional. The rooms are fantastic. The beds are so comfortable, they can lock you in for too long at times in the mornings! the location of this hotel is great as well. its got food and shopping all througout in its own plaza. i am leaving this review now, as i have just had another relaxing and enjoyable trip to the Island, and i realized, this is the best hotel on the island... i should let them and some other folks know :) thanks again Hotel Metropole. See you soon. elegance and coziness. the best hotel in catalina.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 923michaeld923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lots of choices on this charming island but hands down the Metropole did everything right!!! Seriously, Best 2 nites sleep in along time! The bed and linens were sooo comfy and you really could leave your own soaps, shampoos and lotions at home...indulgent! Everything was Very clean, Dry (that's hard to find shoreside), and nicely appointed. We chose the Superior King room and it lacked nothing! The continental breakfast was truely enough to satisfy till lunchtime and the location is central within the town but surprisingly Not noisy! It is our home away from home and a definate Must stay for anyone!!!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room, you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryM719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our room was overlooking the bay - fabulous! Some traffic noise (they should go all electric on the golf carts :). But we enjoyed the staff, the room & the amenities.
Recommended improvements:
*get rid of the weird skateboarder photos in the room. Out of place and kind of unsettling.
*less friends of staff hanging out in the lobby.
*keep hot tub hotter on cold days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel97070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just got back from my first trip to Catalina and I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into Room 214 at the Metropole. Newly remodeled room with comfortable bed, plush linens, working gas fireplace, breakfast table and chairs, flat screen, closet, storage drawers, and nicely appointed bathroom with a separate vanity area. Room was very large and carpet seemed new. My husband was not happy with the location (right next to the lobby) and was a bit miffed by the not so friendly front desk staff - however the room was very quiet even during busy hours at the front desk we couldn't hear anything. The location is superb and we were immediately spoiled with the turn down service complete with chocolate mints on our pillows. Below the hotel are many boutiques, restaurants and even an arcade. Bowling is $5 per person per game (a bit pricey considering its a diluted version of real bowling). The "M" Restaurant is also on the pricey side - but the food was very good ($92 brunch for 2 with coffee and tip - no champagne). I got a pedicure at the Nail Salon below the Hotel and was a bit disappointed. Although the technician was very nice, the actual pedicure was substandard compared to many other places I've been to. The hotel has a rooftop hot tub with capacity for only 4 people. The breakfast includes 'on the go' type options (continental after all) bagels, fresh fruit, cereals, and they serve Coffee Bean which I was also pleasantly surprised to see. In the rooms they have the "do it yourself" starbucks. I would have rated the property a 5 had the hot tub been bigger and the staff a bit friendlier. They weren't necessarily rude - just very dry and to the point which is a bit odd for the hospitality industry. Also wifi was not great.

Room Tip: Room 214 is right next to the front desk, but it is very quiet and you may get a great deal if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing