We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

our hotel room was incredible! This is by far the best hotel on Catalina Island. Its the farthest down which is awesome but still around all the shops and stuff. I love the location. I love the HUGE bath tub in the room and our balcony and fireplace~! All so lovely and romantic and amazing. Best EVER!!!!!! Will always stay at this hotel! The roof top spa was always filled with people and its VERY SMALL fits 4 people. Also the continental breakfast is a tiny baby,, hardly no food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the Superior Room and amazed at the view and over value. Clean, very comfortable beds and great breakfast in the morning. Great value and the view from the room was amazing.

The front desk needs help with sharing the best places to go and the little things. My wife wanted to work out and told there was no gym. But of course, downstairs was a cycling class for FREE if you stay at the hotel and never mentioned.

Close to beach and the place was like no other

Room Tip: Rooms 303-308 are two beds for family with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was my first visit to Catalina Island and I was traveling with a native Californian so wanted to have an amazing experience. The hotel is in an excellent location - overlooking the water but with the main street between. The room was a suite which was actually in a separate portion of the hotel - entered by walking through a shopping area or from the main street. There is no gym in the hotel so you athletic addicts beware!! Also for the safety conscious - no in-room safes either!! No pool either!! The service was mixed - one day we literally though we had entered a different dimension while at the front desk - perhaps it was the inexperience of the staff. The street was also loud which actually precluded sleeping with the windows open and the need for the anemic air conditioning! Overall it was a mixed adventure!

Room Tip: Perhaps stay on the backside away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stay here every year for the Catalina Marathon with my family. Staff made a large effort to be friendly and made my stay very enjoyable. My room had high ceilings and a nice balcony that overlooked the ocean. Never had trouble sleeping even though I was the one who had to sleep on the roll away bed and didn't hear any noise. Also love the little breakfast bar downstairs that had cereal, toast, bagels, and coffee. Was very close to the center of Avalon and had many places that I could enjoy a good lunch and dinner. My favorite part was the rooftop hot tub that had an amazing view of the ocean and was very enjoyable during the night.

Try this hotel and I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd Floor. They are the ones that have balconies that overlook the ocean. The othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Sorry I did not leave a review sooner. We actually visited Hotel Metropole for 3 days starting March 31, 2013. My daughter wanted to go back to Catalina to celebrate her birthday with friends. We got an amazing deal for my daughter's 13th birthday. Free boat ride as well as 30% off our stay. Sadly we were off to a bad start. My daughter's cat needed to go to the ER at 11:30pm the night before the boat would depart. We left him in the care of my mother and the ER, not knowing the bill, prognosis, or if he would survive. Not a great way to start a teenagers birthday, but we had many friends joining us in Catalina and couldn't back out last minute. Frazzled, walking into the hotel, the staff overheard me talking to my mother regarding cost and prognosis of the cat, the staff was patient and made us feel at ease. They did not disappoint and upgraded us to a larger room at no cost. All staff was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and available when needed. Room was modern, clean and a great size and in working order. Beds were nice and comfortable. Roof top Jacuzzi was relaxing and the complimentary continental breakfast was great for two teens in tow. The hotel was perfect walking distance from everything in town. The teens loved the arcade below as well as everything Catalina has to offer. The front desk personnel were sweet to ask us about the status of our cat that was in the ER back in California. They even remembered his name. My daughter, I and our friends had a memorable experience and would definitely return to Hotel Metropole as well as recommend to all. Our cat is doing fine now and we're happy Hotel Metropole eased our worried souls while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talliejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Metropole for a quick weekend escape from LA. The location was ideal, right at the beach and in the heart of town. We really enjoyed our room and the overall hotel design. The staff had great ideas for things to do around Catalina. Definitely one of the best boutique hotels in California.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasMilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

There are no chain hotels in Avalon, but I think this is one of the best boutique "mom and pop" owned hotels on the island. I don't have low standards, but I've been to Avalon many times and and you're just not going to get the "wow" 5-star treatment anywhere in Avalon, period. You will find the same at most of the restaurants as well. They are catering to tourists. Repeat business is minimal, so there isn't the incentive to go over the top with service. They will probably never see the customer again either way.

We stayed on a Monday night in June 2013 and paid $199/night. We were in Room 213 which is on the main floor just down from the front desk. I was a little concerned that it would be too noisy that close to the front desk but it was fine. It has no ocean view which I knew when I booked it. The view was actually just of the wall next to the hotel with some plants and lattice to spruce it up a little. The room was just as expected - king bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and the room was tastefully and minimally decorated with a small bistro table and a big flatscreen TV with some cable channels, no mini fridge. Beach towels are available from the front desk. They will hold your luggage if you arrive before the check-in. Overall, the room was comparable to what you might find at any moderately priced hotel chain. Nothing too fancy, but it gets the job done and was just fine for us. They did come in to freshen up the towels and turn down the bed while we were at dinner.

The hotel is on the far end of town (far meaning the side nearer the casino, the opposite end from the main boat landing) and the entrance was about a half block removed from the water front. Some might prefer something more centrally located, but Avalon really isn't that big and I think the location actually makes it a little more quieter than the hotels directly on Crescent Street and the waterfront. Everything in town was within a 5 minute walk. There is a mini-beach and swimming area right in front of the hotel which is quieter and less crowded than the larger beach area next to the green pier.

A staff person directed us to 4 for the ice machine, but on our way we saw the sign said it was on 3. Turns out the one on 3 is broken, but the one on 4 worked. They have a tiny jacuzzi and small deck area on the 4th floor as well. It's a little cramped so I would skip it unless you don't mind being in close quarters with strangers who might join you up there. During check in we were told the hotel offers continental breakfast until 10am, but we slept in and missed it so I can't say if it's any good. But I do think that speaks well of the bed!

Restaurants
Try Antonio's for pizza and Big Olaf's for ice cream. Coney Island West is good for burgers and hot dogs. Also a great coffee shop (looks like it's popular with the locals) at the back of the El Encanto Marketplace (aka "The Landing"). All are within half a block from the hotel. Steve's Steakhouse is great with meals in the $25-30 range and been there awhile, but there were two new upscale restaurants that recently opened that we didn't try - Avalon Grill and Bluewater which were $30 range. CC Gallagher has great coffee and espresso drinks also. Try the Catalina Night or Island Joy.

Activities
Glass bottom boat is good for the price and I would take that over the semi-submarine Nautilus which is 2x the price but not worth the extra cost for a penny pincher like me. Zip line was $120/person and the Segway tours were $75/person. I know people who have done the bus tour of the interior of the island through Catalina Adventure Tours and enjoyed it. We signed up for snorkeling in Lover's Cove for $40/person through the snorkel/scuba shop just across from the basketball courts. The instructor was great and so was the snorkeling.

Room Tip: Room 213 is main floor, no view. The big suites are above the street which could get a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £150 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing