We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL ROOMS - NO COFFEE IN ROOM”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL ROOMS - NO COFFEE IN ROOM”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrived on the ferry from Long Beach on a sunny March afternoon. The weather was perfect and the walk to the hotel easy. Unfortunately when you arrive at the hotel sign it is very confusing exactly how to get to the lobby. Better signage would have helped this. In addition I wandered thru a walkway filled with arcade and laundry which initially led me to believe this property was not for me.

Check in was easy and I arrived at the most gorgeous room promptly. The view coupled with the decorating made this stay incredible.

The small continental breakfast is held in a small hallway-ish area with little room for sitting and enjoying the breakfast. Luckily there were trays to allow for food to be brought back to the room with the lovely balcony overlooking the harbor.

Upon awakening I noticed that all that was available was decaf coffee for the coffee maker. I called down to the desk around 8 and was told they would "look into it". After hearing nothing I phoned back at 9:40 am and was told they didnt have any regular coffee, just decaf. So that was disappointing.

Overall great room, possibly a bit understaffed?

WOULD return (and bring my own coffee...LOL)

Room Tip: Room 216, Rooms with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    145
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
104
227
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Travelzoo had a special combining round trip ferry and hotel lodgings. Room was quiet and clean, continental breakfast fine, and very convenient to ferry dock.

However, the jacuzzi was broke and the entire sun deck was closed.
Check in (3PM) and check out (11 AM) were ok, but no place to change or shower if you want to spend the day at the beach or do a hike if you arrive at 11 AM and depart the next day at 4 PM.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Quiet, uncluttered, all new. Hotel has 4 levels, great view of Harbor , just across the street. This island certainly has the tropical feel, nice weather in the Winter, and no crowds, so hotel not filled to capacity, late check out time. No lines, no worry, no rush , ahhhhhh

Room Tip: talk to lucy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy2California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Judging by the website I was expecting a LUX hotel, but our rooms looked nothing like the rooms on the website. Most likely because we purchased it on a special so our rooms were not the ones featured with the big windows and patios with ocean views. The service was very mediocre, we arrived at 11:00 and were supposed to get a phone call on a requested "early Check in" when our room was ready. We finally went back to the hotel at 2:30 to find our rooms were ready but they hadn't called us. The upper patio was pretty but very small with only six lounge chairs and the hot tub was not anywhere close to warm enough for a hot tub. I wouldn't say it was a bad hotel, the rooms we had were nicely done, but nothing like my expectations from the website. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet though, and the gas fire worked well.

The journey over to the Island however was another matter. First the highway signs and Google mapping in Long Beach still send you to the old terminal location by the Queen Mary, which is no longer the place the ferry leaves from. Someone working on the dock there directed us back to the new one, which had absolutely NO signage, not one thing to point you in how to get there. The parking area is very full, the elevator up and down never did arrive so we hiked 3 floors with our luggage to get to the terminal. The person who greeted us for tickets was the rudest most insensitive person I've ever had dealings with in travel and to be honest by the time we finally did get to the terminal and get parked, as well as being greeted with a rude ticket agent, I was ready to cancel. If I hadn't pre-paid the whole trip I wouldn't have continued. When you get off the ferry you have to walk with your luggage to the hotel unless you get lucky enough to find a cab, and although it wasn't that far it was the other end of the bay and with heavy cases it felt like a long walk. The Island is pretty but extremely touristy which I somehow didn't expect there, I thought it would fee like a European get away but unfortunately there was a cruise ship in harbor when we were there and it was crawling with tourists. Beautiful place but we won't be in a hurry to try it again.

Room Tip: I don't know how much more the rooms with the patio view are but they are the ones featured on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montecoreOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We returned to Hotel Metropole over Academy Awards Sunday-Monday, on an AmazonLocal deal that provided boat transfers and one night's lodging for $219. Now, the location is still great, if you like to walk to explore Avalon shops and neighborhoods, even the ocean front. The rooms are still good: a good bed, decent water pressure, sweet little fireplace. They are clean. Continental breakfast is nice and bath amenities are great. Here's the thing: in our booking conversation, we were advised available dates were very limited. We were unable to make any other timing work due to so many blackout dates. And, there was zero room for paying for upgraded room with any view or added amenities. When our weekend approached, So. California was facing its worst storm in years and we called with concerns about the transfer over. Get this: we were unable to book or change in any way, even if the boat did not go over "because of the terms of the deal". 72 hour cancellation policy we somehow missed along the way. Hmmm. Then the hotel left us a message our boat reservation had been changed and delayed due to weather - when we called back, the woman who answered (at the number on the voicemail) said there was no one at Metropole with that name and referred us to Catalina Express. Hmmm. Called Catalina Express, learned our scheduled transfer over had been cancelled and re routed to San Pedro several hours later. And was tentative pending Coast Guard approval. OK - we made it work. The crossing was just fine as the storm had passed and seas were only a little rocky. The Catalina Express people couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating, by phone and in person and in the days before and on the days of travel.. The various women who answered the phone at Metropole could not have been more difficult. When we arrived, it was clear many visitors had opted out of the Island for the weekend. It was a very pretty ghost town with improving weather. Still couldn't upgrade or pay to change our room for our one night stay "because of the deal". Hmmm. We spent an abbreviated visit, and the room was fine and the town delightful. But somehow, the attitude made it all a bit less special. Maybe next time we will try someplace new.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booking on the telephone was pleasant. We arrived at the front desk four hours prior to check-in time. We were greeted, checked in and offered to store luggage. Our room was ready to occupy at stated check-in time. The hotel is situated close to all things Avalon and no more than a five minute walk to sights, beach, tours and restaurants. Front desk staff were accommodating; Housekeepers pleasant. We departed refreshed and rejuvenated. Four star facility with five star staff.

Room Tip: some rooms with view priced accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am well traveled and all I can say is if you cannot have a romantic weekend here at Hotel Metropole, I don't know, obviously you need more lessons in romance.

#1 - Do yourself and your lover/husband/wife/S.O. a favor and just book a suite. I have stayed in their smaller rooms and they are just as nice but make the commitment ok, it's not gonna break the bank. Veronica the manager was kind enough to accommodate us with the most, ridiculous, panoramic view Avalon has to offer. I have stayed at the competitors and even the one (Inn) on the hill, but nothing compared to the convenience and ambiance like Metropole. We stayed in a ocean front room and the glass doors blocked out all the noise from the street.

#2 - Just take time to the wonderful complimentary champagne and head up to the rooftop patio. The views are spectacular! Yea, and I will tell you the others DO NOT offer comp champagne.

#3 - The continental breakfast is substantial, for sure. I don't know...if the female/male you travel with needs more food then what they offer you might want to question the quantity she consumes.

#4 - I KNOW the restaurant may not be associated with the hotel but it's all packaged so wonderfully within the same building. The "M" restaurant which was right next door was phenomenal! It was nice to see the owner Kathy to be able to accommodate our dietary needs. Her recipes were light, seasonal, and just enough to enjoy a the wonderful culinary fair.

The staff, amenities, room amenities (L'Occitane), locality, comfort, and cleanliness was beyond our expectations and we plan to return. If you cannot have a wonderful time at Metropole, I don't know...something is wrong.

Room Tip: Book suite 321. All rooms 312 to 319 are also beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing