We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Place To Stay”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

An old freind mentioned the Hotel Metropole to us when we told her we were thinking of going over to Catalina a month ago.
After reading some reviews here on Trip Advisor, we looked at the hotel's website and then booked a reservation for a room.

The trip over in the boat , the Catalina Express, was quick and painless. I get seasick easily, but it was smooth "sailing" all the way.

It was a pleasant short walk around the curve of Avalon Ba,y with our rolling suit cases it was very easy.
The hotel is at the very center of town and we noticed so great restaurants and cute stores a stones throw form the hotel.

Check in was easy and the very friendly staff gave us a room on the third floor.
Clean and with view over the courtyard.

We walked around Avalon until we got hungry and then found a great place to have seafood right across the main square from the hotel.....fantastixc fresh fish.
In the morning we went down and filled some trays with the very decent breakfast foods and fresh coffee from the breakfast buffet and took it back upstairs to our room.

Later in the day we rode the glass bottom boat and rented 2 bicycles just for the fun of it.

The room wwas quiet, c lean and had a nice large screen TV. My husband liked having the free wi-fi so he could check his all important portfolio.....that keeps us alive.

Avalon and Catalina were just a quaint and cute as i remember them being.

We will return much sooner now that we discovered this marvelous and friendly hotel.
Thank you Hotel Metropole staff......we had fun.

Room Tip: Third floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Advertised special was $219 with room and ferry tickets. The upgrade was room with massages for $299. Only when you book do they tell you that the upgrade took away your ferry tickets which cost $70 per person. The massages cost $60 per person! Sadly the hotel does not even convey this to you in a nice way. Upon arrival, voucher holders are not that welcome either. Pity because the hotel rooms are nice - they can do better.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wonder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinagregg, Owner at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your recent trip to Avalon. The specials you refer to were two different promotions. They were not connected. I truly appreciate your insight into the staffs attitude and will bring this up them in an effort to correct that behavior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel Metropole is a delightful, upscale hotel that went above and beyond our expectations. They actually mailed us items accidentally left in the room. Great service, location and amenities. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I booked this for my family through Travelzoo, the pictures on the website looked so beautiful so was really excited about the visit. Unfortunately the rooms were not as pictured. Catalina was so beautiful that I will definitely come back but will pay up and for a better hotel. It seems like all of them run promos packaging the Catalina Express from time to time.

The beds were comfortable, sheets new, fireplace nice but bathrooms need a serious renovation. Lobby carpet in hallway was gross.

Unfortunately the Jacuzzi tub on the 4th floor was filled with scum. When asking maintenance if he was going to shock it after he scooped the scum out - he said he didn't think it needed it. Cleanliness is not a strong point at this hotel. Bummer because after a cold day of zip lining, we would have really enjoyed this.

If you go, try and book the VIP rooms in the front or the 3rd & 4th floors with inner ctyd view. You will get a view of the ocean.

There are much better hotels though if you are paying rack rates.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Arrived to a fireplace and bottle of champagne on ice. Hardwood floors and extremely simple, comfortable decor. A look out the window reminds you just how close you are to the water. Relaxed for a bit then did some bar hopping. After all, it was Saint Patrick's day. All of the shops, bars, and restaurants are very close by. Got a great nights sleep in the heavenly king-sized bed and enjoyed the fresh fruit and coffee in the morning. The hot tub was out of order, which was a bit of a bummer, but the jacuzzi tub made up for it. Checked 3 bags after check-out time to get some hiking in and not have to worry about carrying luggage. Retrieved them without a hitch and walked to catch the ferry back home. Great one night stay! Employees were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippy ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrived on the ferry from Long Beach on a sunny March afternoon. The weather was perfect and the walk to the hotel easy. Unfortunately when you arrive at the hotel sign it is very confusing exactly how to get to the lobby. Better signage would have helped this. In addition I wandered thru a walkway filled with arcade and laundry which initially led me to believe this property was not for me.

Check in was easy and I arrived at the most gorgeous room promptly. The view coupled with the decorating made this stay incredible.

The small continental breakfast is held in a small hallway-ish area with little room for sitting and enjoying the breakfast. Luckily there were trays to allow for food to be brought back to the room with the lovely balcony overlooking the harbor.

Upon awakening I noticed that all that was available was decaf coffee for the coffee maker. I called down to the desk around 8 and was told they would "look into it". After hearing nothing I phoned back at 9:40 am and was told they didnt have any regular coffee, just decaf. So that was disappointing.

Overall great room, possibly a bit understaffed?

WOULD return (and bring my own coffee...LOL)

Room Tip: Room 216, Rooms with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Travelzoo had a special combining round trip ferry and hotel lodgings. Room was quiet and clean, continental breakfast fine, and very convenient to ferry dock.

However, the jacuzzi was broke and the entire sun deck was closed.
Check in (3PM) and check out (11 AM) were ok, but no place to change or shower if you want to spend the day at the beach or do a hike if you arrive at 11 AM and depart the next day at 4 PM.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £141 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing