We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place....Our Yearly Getaway”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Place....Our Yearly Getaway”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have been going to Hotel Metropole on Catalina for decade or more. The rooms are clean and airy and the hotel is in the heart of Avalon and an easy walk to all the best restaurants and attractions. We especially appreciate the friendly staff and the very nice breakfast bar in the mornings. The coffee is really quite good....and its endless.
We always enjoy taklng a tour of the Nature Consentvancy which really constitutes about 90% of the island of Catalina. This year we saw some of the Golden Eagles ( Bald Eagles ?) that live on the island.
The hotel can book or reserve everything and anything you want to do.as far as activities on the island.
The high speed wi-fi and large screen TV with full cable service make it easy to stay in touch with business associates , family and friends.
We really have fun each time we go to Avalon with its "Old California
" feel and friendly people. Hotel Metropole has become our home away from home about one hour offshore from Los Angeles.
Thank You Hotel Metropole....we love you.

Room Tip: We likes the 3rd floor.....any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    145
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
104
227
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've stayed here several years ago and the hotel hasn't changed much; still very nice and clean. Beautiful rooms, very clean. Nice bathroom--cool skylight. Good service and nice continental breakfast every morning. We even received a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Great view of the beach and marina from the jacuzzi. Only downside is no pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploring4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We loved our room...hardwood floors and 2 comfortable queen size beds...spacious for a family of 4. It's hard to find a room with 2 queen beds in Catalina. But the bathroom was horrible - so old. Our balcony overlooked the courtyard. Even though there was a lot of noise outside, the room was actually very quiet. The staff were nice. The breakfast was worthless. There is a little arcade down below which my kids loved. The jacuzzi on the 4th floor was cold. Great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the Von's side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 272marcies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Metropole on an overnight Catalina visit. We arrived in the late morning, and the hotel was nice enough to store our baggage and give us beach towels before our check in time. We had a suite facing the harbor, and the room was beautiful! The balcony was small, but the view was spectacular. The jacuzzi on the top deck was a bit small, so we decided not to use it. Staff were pleasant, no complaints about the room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Part of the hotel surrounds first floor shops and eateries, and others have ocean views. Oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

So we had fairly low expectations to begin with since Catalina Island is not known for high-end hotels. But when looking at Hotel Metropole's website they represent themselves as the premier hotel on the island. It is a 3-star hotel, nothing more, nothing less. Our room (Ocean Superior) had a nice view from a little balcony with 2 chairs but was located above the courtyard which made it very noisy. Well that and the thin walls and noise from the Main Street in the front of the hotel. The website advertised spa like bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs. Our room & our friends room both had what I call "Motel-Style" bathrooms. They are pretty much open to the main room with a door going to the W/C and tub/shower combo. There is only 1 light switch that controls the sink/vanity areas bright flouresent lights, the W/C area light, and the W/C areas LOUD fan. So if going to the bathroom late at night, either you will be going in pitch darkness or you will wake up your significant other with the bright light and LOUD fan.
Another big issue is the Air Conditioner. It is a wall mount unit (like in a Motel) and right next to the bed. There is no A/C at all in the bathroom making it unbearably hot while the person in the main room is freezing.
While the maids were very nice, the front desk staff had a "I don't care attitude". No smiles, no welcome to Hotel Metropole, no how may we help you.
Adequate for a 3-star hotel. A long ways from a 4-star. If we ever come back to Catalina I'd look into other hotels before staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The metropole has something to offer to everyone
Huge rooms ,most are sea facing with balconies
Stayed on the top floor just next to the hot water jacuzzi
It has restaurants,bowling alley,shops,all in its vicinity
They provide free breakfast served in the Lobby entrance consisting of juice,coffee/tea breads and pastries
Request an early checkin if arriving in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sangeeta1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I had enjoyed my 3 days stay in this Hotel. Specially the Beach House where I stayed. And I must say The Customer Service is in Metropole Hotel was excellent. And the emplyees are very Friendly. SPECIALLY ONE Employee name Lucy. She very very nice. And Making Sure were Enjoying our stay or if We need anything in Our Room.. I Cant Wait To go back again NEXT Summer... thank you LUCY AND TO METROPOLE HOTEL. FOR HAVING US IN YOUR HOTEL..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank armndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,099 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing