We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Our experience was very positive. Despite the 3pm check-in time, we were able to check-in early at noon with no problems. The room was comfortable and well furnished. In the morning, the continental breakfast was generous (pastries, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, beverages) and tasty. Another good feature of the hotel is its prime location, right in the marketplace and across from the beach.

The only bad thing about our room was that the view out the windows was of a cement wall. Next time, we'll pay a little extra for a better view.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    141
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
225
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed in the Hotel Metropole for our 35th wedding anniversary. The hotel room was clean and neat. We were in a Superior Balcony Courtyard view room# 309. The only complaint about our room was that the view off our balcony was not of the courtyard....but of the leaves of a tree. In other words....we had no view at all. The balcony was definately private!!!! Our room had a nice gas fireplace, large tiled bathroom and comfy king sized bed. The continental breakfast was very nice: bagels, danish, yogurt, fruit, granola, milk, juice, coffee & tea. The staff was friendly and helpful. Catalina itself was great!!!! Weather in the 70 to 75 degrees and not much of crowd...just perfect for us. We would highly recommend the Hotel Metropole and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthDakotaTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The hotel was very nice & we had fresh flowers daily in our room. Our room had a fireplace & a balcony facing the Avalon Bay & Casino Ballroom. Every member of the staff was GREAT, from check in to check out. The courtyard has cute shops & dining. We came for Jazz Trax and plan to make it an annual event. The Metrople will be our only hotel choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JazzLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed in room 305 which overlooks the courtyard. Lovely room with nice amenities. Continental breakfast in the lobby. For the most part, Catalina hotels are expensive and they usually require a 2 night minimum on the weekends. You really have to want to stay there. It's a nice getaway. Relaxing, fun and different because of the lack of cars and trucks. You really feel like you went somewhere different.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llhcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Room 321 has a nice balcony with a beautiful view of the Casino and waterfront. Great for people watching and having morning coffee and before dinner drink. Room large, very clean, shower and Jacuzzi, big towles bathrobes and slippers.

Location is close to everything. Good shopping in the Metropole Marketplace. Next door to Villa Portofino, where we had an excellent dinner. Atmosphere and service was Great.
Front desk people at hotel very nice and accommdating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginnylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Perfect location, pricey but private. Continental breakfast was convenient, single two slot toaster is a bottle neck for those wishing a toasted bagel.

The staff needs to smile more and make better eye contact.

The AC in the room was a life saver the first couple of days were very warm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale,Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Hotel Metropole was very. It is located in the center of town and for the price was a very decent stay. The rooms were very clean and had all of the amenities of a large hotel. Catalina Island is a very nice place for a relaxing getaway. We also would recommend a snorkel/island boat tour with Catalina Ocean Rafting and Catalina Segway tours.
Steve's Steakouse was awesome and the drinks/nightlife at Luau Larry's was alot of fun!!!! Overall a great time!!!!!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BBJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing