We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay on Catalina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on Catalina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. Great service, great location, great ammenities. I will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolppls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    137
    49
    17
    22
See reviews for
96
222
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

The Hotel Metropole is with out a doubt the nicest hotel I've stayed in on Catalina Island. From its friendly staff that was eager to please, to the amazing suite my wife and I stayed in. Ocean view, elegant plush rooms, amazing all around 2 day vacation. I would highly recommend staying in the suites if possible. Dont forget to grab fish and chips from the green place at end of the PIER!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

The front desk staff were rude, unprofessional, and exhibited utterly poor communication skills.They were young and seemed bothered when asked questions.
Rooms we stayed at on second floor are behind a market loading dock and were extremely noisy, the carpet in our room was filthy and elevator makes a loud noise as if
it was going to break. Do not stay in rooms 203 to 208 noisy rooms. The housekeeping staff was very loud outside rooms early in the morning. Hotel Metropole not what it use to be.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank enjoy2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Our less than positive evaluation of the Metropole Hotel is based on lack of service and attention to detail. In January we booked a boat package with a two night stay at the Metropole Hotel in March. We were told we would have a moderate room with a courtyard/ocean view and the vouchers for the ferry from San Pedro would be sent to us the next day. After two weeks we still had not received them. We called again and were told they would be sent the next day; again, no vouchers. After several more calls we were finally given a reservation number and were told we could just give that to the ferry office. When we arrived at the ferry office, they, of course, wanted the vouchers. Finally, they called the hotel and the vouchers were faxed to them.

When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room on the third floor, that was "as advertised", but was probably one of the least desirable rooms in the hotel. Our balcony and the view from our room opened directly onto the elevator shaft (a blank wall). If we looked to the right we did have a partial view of the courtyard, but it was pretty strange. (On a positive note, it was a quiet room!) If the hotel was fully booked, that wouldn't have been an issue, but the hotel was clearly mostly empty. If fact, the next afternoon we overheard a couple being offered a deluxe room with ocean view and a fireplace for almost half the rate we were paying.

When we checked in we noticed a menu displayed on the front desk for appetizers, etc. at the hotel bar. It sounded like a perfect dinner option for us, so on our way out we asked the young man at the front desk for the location and were told it was just outside in the courtyard. We spent half an hour or so looking for it and finally gave up and went somewhere else. The next night we thought we would give it another try and asked again at the desk. At that point we were told they were only open on Fridays and Saturdays (this was a Tuesday). If that had been posted someplace or we had been given the information when we first asked, we would have been much more understanding.

All in all, the Metropole is a nice hotel, but they really need to work on their customer service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

All staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond in terms of customer service. Very hospitable. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I I sent my daughter and her significant other to this hotel as a gift. They adored room 301, especially the fireplace, the balcony, the view, the jacuzzi tub, the seating area. My daughter loved the view through the large porthole window. It's an end room and very private, the trees outside provided even more privacy,even though they could see the Wrigley mansion, the chimes tower and the ocean.They thought the smallish bathrobes were very funny. In February, the island is not a busy place, and they felt they had the island pretty much to themselves, which was lovely. They liked having the tiny supermarket right next door, they didnt need to use the minibar. They enjoyed the hotels' breakfast, included in the price, as was the Catalina Express . The price, too, in February, was reasonable for such a nice hotel. walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

We were very pleased to be able to check in early. Walking to our room we were a little concerned about the level of noise coming from the Van's Grocery Store next door. There was a truck parked in the alley between the Hotel and the Store that had a loud air conditioning unit running and the noise carried into the room. The room was spacious with two double beds and there was also a fireplace.

Our room overlooked a courtyard with several stores below our second floor room. Eventually the Van's truck left and all got quiet. Very nice complementary breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed the hotel. One final caution is that the coffee shop in the courtyard opens fairly early and if the folks stopping by for their morning java are in a talkative mood, you may be up early, too.

Overall, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinsnslus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing