We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like we traveled 3000 miles...”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

But we were really only 26 miles across the ocean from Los Angeles to Catalina! And we didn't know that there was such a posh, upscale, cool place until we checked into the Hotel Metropole. We'd always thought of Catalina as rinky-dink, so it was a shocker to find this place with what seemed to be a brand new rooms/building. The town itself is frozen in time, but on one weekend we saw a whale, seal, buffalo roaming on a trip to the interior of the island, a bald eagle, and a zillion wildflowers (I guess from all the rain). We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PickyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

Ok where do I begin....

My husband and I have not gone on a vacation for 6 years and we decided to stay in Catalina since it is far away but not that far. The travel agent messed up our transportation information and I had to get sea sick (take a boat vs. helicopter ride) to get to the island. Once we reached the island (courtesy of the hotel since our previous arrangements didn't pan out) and reached the beautiful Metropole Hotel, they took amazing care of us.

To begin, they were courteous, friendly and very sympathetic with our struggle to even just reach the island. (Not to mention we got a ticket driving to Long Beach :( for the helicopter ride that didn't happen)

Next they upgraded our accommodations and treated us like royalty. Let me tell you, this could have gone south so fast had it not been for the hotel Metropole. They didn't let our special vacation sour as it was starting.

Our room.... what can I say..... ok picture it......laying down in bed with the curtains open to the balcony and there is the beautiful bay, palm trees, boats, waves and a sweet breeze. Lovely, just lovely. The room is remodeled, modern, relaxing and very tasteful.
Jacuzzi tub anyone. I was in college the last time I stepped into one of these. It was clean and therapeutic. The whole place was clean and therapeutic.

We ran into the manager in the street during our stay and she was so friendly and caring about our vacation in general and even gave us great tips about where to eat.

Loved it, loved it.... You will too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rozilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Our experience at this hotel was top notch. The room we stayed in was extremely well designed, with very nice amenities, and the service from the staff was always helpful. The bathtub (i'm not really a bath guy to begin with) and the whole room itself was such a pleasant surprise, our view of the harbor was beautiful. The hotel is right in the heart of the town - super central location Our trip was really relaxing and the hotel features in the room really had a lot to do with that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I highly recommend this hotel. Great service, great location, great ammenities. I will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolppls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The Hotel Metropole is with out a doubt the nicest hotel I've stayed in on Catalina Island. From its friendly staff that was eager to please, to the amazing suite my wife and I stayed in. Ocean view, elegant plush rooms, amazing all around 2 day vacation. I would highly recommend staying in the suites if possible. Dont forget to grab fish and chips from the green place at end of the PIER!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The front desk staff were rude, unprofessional, and exhibited utterly poor communication skills.They were young and seemed bothered when asked questions.
Rooms we stayed at on second floor are behind a market loading dock and were extremely noisy, the carpet in our room was filthy and elevator makes a loud noise as if
it was going to break. Do not stay in rooms 203 to 208 noisy rooms. The housekeeping staff was very loud outside rooms early in the morning. Hotel Metropole not what it use to be.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank enjoy2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Our less than positive evaluation of the Metropole Hotel is based on lack of service and attention to detail. In January we booked a boat package with a two night stay at the Metropole Hotel in March. We were told we would have a moderate room with a courtyard/ocean view and the vouchers for the ferry from San Pedro would be sent to us the next day. After two weeks we still had not received them. We called again and were told they would be sent the next day; again, no vouchers. After several more calls we were finally given a reservation number and were told we could just give that to the ferry office. When we arrived at the ferry office, they, of course, wanted the vouchers. Finally, they called the hotel and the vouchers were faxed to them.

When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room on the third floor, that was "as advertised", but was probably one of the least desirable rooms in the hotel. Our balcony and the view from our room opened directly onto the elevator shaft (a blank wall). If we looked to the right we did have a partial view of the courtyard, but it was pretty strange. (On a positive note, it was a quiet room!) If the hotel was fully booked, that wouldn't have been an issue, but the hotel was clearly mostly empty. If fact, the next afternoon we overheard a couple being offered a deluxe room with ocean view and a fireplace for almost half the rate we were paying.

When we checked in we noticed a menu displayed on the front desk for appetizers, etc. at the hotel bar. It sounded like a perfect dinner option for us, so on our way out we asked the young man at the front desk for the location and were told it was just outside in the courtyard. We spent half an hour or so looking for it and finally gave up and went somewhere else. The next night we thought we would give it another try and asked again at the desk. At that point we were told they were only open on Fridays and Saturdays (this was a Tuesday). If that had been posted someplace or we had been given the information when we first asked, we would have been much more understanding.

All in all, the Metropole is a nice hotel, but they really need to work on their customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £149 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing