We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel feels more like a run down motel, and is definitely more comparable with a holiday inn, and at $260 a night, it was outrageously priced for what you get. Our room was tiny (despite being in an upgraded room class) and there were scuff marks on the ceiling and walls, a tiny bathroom, and a horrible old school tv with no pay per view movies. (you can rent a dvd downstairs for $8 if you want to watch a movie, or go down the street to Sugarloaf Bookstore and rent a new release for $4!) The in room coffee maker included maxwell house coffee, the bathroom needed some serious upgrading and retouching, and the a/c needed major cleaning. We asked for bathrobes twice and never got them. The continental bfast was mediocre at best and the rooftop hottub was definitely hard to keep clean and was covered in sand and dirt when we tried to use it one night.

The location is good if you don't mind being on top of a busy marketplace/shops/courtyard. On the good side, the bed was super comfortable and had fantastic sheets. They had great big bathtowels and l'occitane toiletries. I'd expect more of the hotel to be at that level, and just wish they'd add higher level amenities and more service.

All in all, I would not stay here again and would instead try the Pavillion hotel, which just opened down the street and has comparable prices but looks much nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

I found this hotel a let down after reading all the reviews. I was expecting a really nice hotel for the amount of money I was paying, but it was really just average. Maybe all the hotels in Catalina are expensive.

The location is horrible, because it is situated above a bunch of shops and a restaurant. The 2nd night of our stay, there was an extremely loud private party going on at the restaurant and in the outdoor patio which was below our room. We could not sleep because of the loud music and people outside. The front desk did make an effort to get the restaurant to help out with the situation and did offer us compensation after we complained.

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds that had a courtyard view. The hotel is not much nicer than a Holiday Inn. The tv was old (tube style) and small. The walls had scuff marks and the sheets had stains. The decor of the room and hotel was nice and their spa on the 4th floor with views to the ocean was a plus. The continental breakfast was good and they had a nice selection.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I would recommend this hotel - although I wouldn't turn on the A/C (gave off a musty smell). All the staff was very pleasant. The continental was a bit of a step up - nicer bagels and scones. We didn't know until our second morning that you could take your breakfast downstairs and eat outside at small tables. As seems to be the norm, coffee at these hotel-provided breakfasts is really pretty sad. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeacefulGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This hotel was in a perfect location. Across the street from the water and easy access to restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were very nice. We hd one of the smaller rooms with a king-size bed. There was plenty of room and all the room amenities were great. Very comfortable bed, thick bath towels, and chocolate on your pillow when they turn-down the beds.

This is a small hotel, so they do not have a pool area, only a hot-tub. That worked for us, but if this is what you are looking for, I'd recommend Hotel Villa Portofino.

I look forward to returning to Catalina again soon - I will definelty stay at Metropole again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulsa_Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

But we were really only 26 miles across the ocean from Los Angeles to Catalina! And we didn't know that there was such a posh, upscale, cool place until we checked into the Hotel Metropole. We'd always thought of Catalina as rinky-dink, so it was a shocker to find this place with what seemed to be a brand new rooms/building. The town itself is frozen in time, but on one weekend we saw a whale, seal, buffalo roaming on a trip to the interior of the island, a bald eagle, and a zillion wildflowers (I guess from all the rain). We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PickyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Ok where do I begin....

My husband and I have not gone on a vacation for 6 years and we decided to stay in Catalina since it is far away but not that far. The travel agent messed up our transportation information and I had to get sea sick (take a boat vs. helicopter ride) to get to the island. Once we reached the island (courtesy of the hotel since our previous arrangements didn't pan out) and reached the beautiful Metropole Hotel, they took amazing care of us.

To begin, they were courteous, friendly and very sympathetic with our struggle to even just reach the island. (Not to mention we got a ticket driving to Long Beach :( for the helicopter ride that didn't happen)

Next they upgraded our accommodations and treated us like royalty. Let me tell you, this could have gone south so fast had it not been for the hotel Metropole. They didn't let our special vacation sour as it was starting.

Our room.... what can I say..... ok picture it......laying down in bed with the curtains open to the balcony and there is the beautiful bay, palm trees, boats, waves and a sweet breeze. Lovely, just lovely. The room is remodeled, modern, relaxing and very tasteful.
Jacuzzi tub anyone. I was in college the last time I stepped into one of these. It was clean and therapeutic. The whole place was clean and therapeutic.

We ran into the manager in the street during our stay and she was so friendly and caring about our vacation in general and even gave us great tips about where to eat.

Loved it, loved it.... You will too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rozilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Our experience at this hotel was top notch. The room we stayed in was extremely well designed, with very nice amenities, and the service from the staff was always helpful. The bathtub (i'm not really a bath guy to begin with) and the whole room itself was such a pleasant surprise, our view of the harbor was beautiful. The hotel is right in the heart of the town - super central location Our trip was really relaxing and the hotel features in the room really had a lot to do with that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £146 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing