We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Avalon!”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Avalon!”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Wonderful experience. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Newly remodeled, a casual elegance aura. Beautiful inner garden, amply supplied with comfy lounges, rooms are very roomy and gorgeous with dreamy beds.Great continental breakfast provided, and the wine and cheese mixer at 4:00pm is a nice extra. Centrally located right on the beach strip/walk, but also quiet and relaxing. Very attentive staff. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: go for the ground level rooms!Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doggiemom_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    244
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
293
487
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GRAND TERRACE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Pavilion hotel, this is an awesome hotel, the room was perfect, the staff is nice, breakfast is yummy and the afternoon wine and cheese was wonderful. We had such a great stay here from June 19-21. We can't wait to come back. Thank you, from Judy, Stewart, Ari and Trenton.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOES10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Hello,
Would like to thank the staff at the Pavilion for a great stay in Avalon on Catalina Island. The hotel is an older property, but has been tastefully remodeled. The rooms, while not large, are designed for convenience, and are attractive. Soundproofing could be better. However, this is all more than compensated for by the helpful staff (thanx to Lubos, Zack and Jose) for their help and suggestions in making our 2 day trip one that we'll repeat later in the year. The hotel is located on the boardwalk, so is within walking distance of downtown Avalon. The relaxed outdoor seating area for hotel guests, the continental breakfast and evening wine/cheese/bread tasting for guests to get acquainted were nice, unexpected touches. I am involved with customer service and was impressed when one of the guest families arrived late to the tasting. I watched Lubos as he quietly ordered his staff to procure food which had been stored, quickly brought out the wines which had been stored, and was gracious and friendly to the family. The grounds are largely given to lush vegetation, and this is unusual, since space is at a premium on the island and more rooms could have been built on the property. All told, a good place to stay. The rating of 5 was based on the hotel value as well as the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel is located a few feet from the beach and walking distance to nearly everything in Avalon. It has been renovated recently and has wonderful outdoor areas and nice room decor. They serve a good continental breakfast and offer wine and cheese in the afternoon with the option to sit in a comfortable lounge or in the outdoor seating areas. The staff members were helpful and pleasant. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaplesWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Let me start off by saying we have been coming to Catalina for 10 years. Also, we have stayed at this hotel before the remodel and were very happy with our stay. Also, we purchased our reservation 2 months ahead of time, in full so there was no issue there.

My fiancé and I were booked from Friday to Monday. We checked in and received a room in the back of the hotel right by the street. We decided to take a nap during the day we got there and we both could not sleep because of the loud noise of the cars.

We decided to go to the front desk to see if there was anything they could do. The front desk supervisor Stacey told us that she only had one other room available and it was upstairs. We went to check out this room and found it was even louder than our original room. We told her that this was not better so she let us look at a wheelchair accessible room that had 2 twin beds (which were hard as rocks) and when we told her that was not okay, she said, "well then do you want a refund?"

The only other options the front desk supervisor provided was a full refund or to upgrade to a better room for a fee. The ONLY time she apologized (it was not a sincere apology) was when she handed us the receipt stating that a full refund will be issued after we decided to leave the hotel and end our trip the same day it started. I can fully entertain the possibility that there may have not have been any other better rooms available and could have accepted the conditions of the first room, but it was the poor customer service that was unacceptable for us. Not at one point during my dealings with the supervisor did I feel that she was genuinely concerned or apologetic for the problems we encountered.

Maybe it was our young appearance that caused her to not take our concerns seriously, but the fact is that we paid over $200 a night and we should receive the same customer service everyone else receives.

We will never again come and stay at this hotel again. We will make sure to tell others what we experienced so they don't make the mistake of spending their money to stay at this hotel. Customer service is so important when staying in a hotel and when that's lacking, the nice cosmetic aspects of the hotel aren't worth staying in a place where you aren't respected.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JohnVill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalonmtb, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for bringing this experience to our attention. We deeply regret this situation and have rectified the problem directly with the guest. As you can see by the vast number of positive reviews, this is not our normal level of service. We strive to exceed our customer’s expectations on all accounts; however in this situation we fell well short. The entire staff has been briefed on this situation and changes have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Fantastic hotel! Location is unbeatable. Very close to the ferry dock, and centrally located in town. Very comfortable bedding and bed itself, large and spacious bathroom, all remodeled for a fresh and relaxing feel.

Book this on Expedia for the best rate. It didn't come back in search results for me, but I was able to find it by specifically entering the name into search.

Don't skip the complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon; it was great! Breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast; the freshly baked pastries were delicious.

This hotel made it a great trip. It was so nice to come back to such a comfortable home base. I would absolutely recommend the Pavilion, and I would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Book on expedia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalsaGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I booked this hotel based on recomendations here on TA. It was wonderful. The hotel has been recently refurbished. The rooms are clean and tasteful. The landscaping in the courtyard is beautiful. They offer a very nice continental breakfast each morning and a very generous wine & cheese happy hour each afternoon. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldacura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing