We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a find”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We landed on the island a little before noon and started heading over to town with the rest of the herd of people. Little did we know that our hotel was the first one around the curve. We checked in and a room was ready so they had us there! The room was nicely furnished with a big flat screen tv. The bathroom was broken up into two parts with a good size sink/dressing area and a smaller room for shower/toilet. We don't spend a lot of time in a room when we travel so it was all good AND the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were lovely with small tables and chairs lining the beach front, a firepit with comfy chairs, and lounges with umbrellas scattered throughout the grassy area between the two buildings. The website photos do justice. They have a decent continental breakfast each morning along with wine and cheese at 4:00 pm every afternoon. The wine and cheeses were different the two afternoons we were there which was nice. The staff couldnt have been more attentive and nicer! It was a great stay. the firepit was a nice place to relax and meet other guests.....a nice added touch!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casualtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

The management here is terrible. My wife and I stayed here and the water got shut off during the middle of our shower. We went to the front desk to find out what the problem was and why it happened. No one could give an answer and they did't send anyone to investigate. The manager told me that he was sorry and promised to send a certificate for another stay. He never came through on his promise to send the certificate and did not respond to phone calls or emails.

Room Tip: Don't expect mush from the management. Take a quick shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SpatulaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Public Relations Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for bringing this experience to our attention. We deeply regret this situation and would like to rectify this problem directly with you. As you can see by the vast number of positive reviews, this is not our normal level of service. We strive to exceed our customer’s expectations on all accounts.

Thank you,
Brittani Brisacher
PR/Marketing Specialist
Santa Catalina Island Company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

What a pleasant surprise! The online pics do not do this place justice! Tastefully decorated, beautiful grounds, gorgeous view! Enjoyed the room,firepit and gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We eloped to Catalina and were married on the beach (South Beach) with our toes in the sand (yes, it ook off my heels for this!) and the ocean tumbling in toward the shore...it was perfect! We stayed at the Pavillion in the Descanso suite...it was absolutely wonderful! Private patio with glass doors that open the whole suite up to the balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds and the ocean. The room was spacious and clean, newly remodled. Staff was kind and helpful, the outdoor patio and fire pit was relaxing, complimentary wine and cheese tasting in the evening. Perfect location. We had the perfect wedding and stay! thank you!
Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Marshall

Room Tip: Room 202, if you want to spoil yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We returned to the Pavilion Hotel after a 2 year hiatus. The return was very enjoyable. Since our last stay they have done some very nice things to the property. The courtyard area that was a grass lawn is now several nooks with tables and chairs situated for cozy chats or naps in the sun. They have installed a firepit that warms you up and invites guests to get together. The breakfast is now quite sumptuous with numerous offerings including fresh sliced mangos. They offer wine and cheese tasting frequently and other activities. The rooms have been redone and are very nice. We didn't know but if we had we would have requested a king bed. Our room had two comfortable full/queen? beds. There is a flat screen television and a wide variety of channels. The room was well appointed with a refrigerator and a room safe and the standard amenities but was lacking a microwave. The staff made their kitchen available for us to heat up what we needed which was great. The only real complaint was that the drain in the bathroom smelled. We ended up plugging it with a towel. This eliminated the smell and we weren't inconveniced. The last thing I want to comment on was the staff. We were checked in quickly and directed to our room. Any need was met quickly and any call to the desk was answered courteously. They were very attentive and did a great job of taking care of us. We really enjoyed our stay at the Pavilion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdublyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Perfect location. Clean rooms. Staff was extremely helpful. Went out of their way to accommodate. Beautiful view. Won me over with the Wine and cheese. If you don't stay here you will wish you did.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mynyogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed the weekend at the Pavilion Hotel. What a treat!!! The staff are so kind and make sure you have everything you could possibly need. The room and furnishing are great!!! The wine and cheese reception in the best. Best Hotel by far on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socalhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £132 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing