We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband, baby and I stayed at the Pavilion for 2 nights and we really had a wonderful time! We LOVED the gardens more than anything, the convenience of a great location (just across the beach and around all restaurants, lover's cove, every thing). The rooms were also very nice and pleasant. Love the bathrooms.

The breakfast was delish! they had fresh fuirts every day (loved the mangoes) all cut and beautifully set up, croissants, different pastries, bread, bagel, lattes, capuccinos, and hard boil eggs. They had water all day long for the guest and great lunges in the garden.

From 4:30 to 5:30 they serve complimentary wine and cheese with toast bagels and we loved that too. Nice wine as well not the real cheap kind.

The staff was very accomodating. Special thanks to Leti, the siblings that were visiting on an exchange program, Oscar, Gabriel, Alex, who where there for us all the time! and to Martin! who was the first one receiving us!

Thanks to all of you for making a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiDanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    234
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
274
463
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The location is outstanding, the service is impeccable, and the room was great!!! We never missed the wine and cheese in the afternoon. In fact, we planned our activities so that we would be back in time. The breakfast was plentiful and one of the staff made us cappuccinos every morning. The bed was SO comfortable and I slept great. What is not to love?? A bit of luxury at a reasonable price. It would have been great if they had included robes too but I'm not going to quibble over that.

We will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Undertraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion because it was so close to the boat dock and they sent someone to collect our luggage. It had just been remodeled the last time we went and was just remodeled once again this time. It was beautiful. We loved it. We especially loved sitting in the outdoor lounge area, sipping orange water and coffee and people watching. At night we sat by the fire pit and visited. In the morning we ate the lovely breakfast which is included as we sat once again in the lounge area, and in the afternoon, just before dinner, we had cheese and orange water. It was lovely. We spent a lot of time in that area, because there were a lot of us and we were getting acquainted. It was perfect. Oh, and we had a little patio in the shade of our room. That was really sweet.

Room Tip: Lower floor costs a little more, but I can't climb stairs so it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We've been 5 different times to Catalina and this was our 1st time at Pavilion Hotel, compared to the other hotels we've stayed in there, this was our favorite, we will definitely be back! The staff was all very friendly and helpful (I mean even the housekeeping was awesome), the room was nice, and the cheese and wine in the afternoon was the cherry on top! We got the Unlimited package for our family of 4 and enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling, miniature golfing, rock climbing, underwater exploration sub ride, and golf cart rental.. so needless to say we had LOTS of fun!! Our ONLY complaint is that the two beds in the rooms were FULL size beds and they were too small for our liking, next time we go we will need a bigger suite or a better sleeping situation with our 2 kids. For Catalina (which we have found to be hit or miss with restaurants and hotels) the Pavilion Hotel is a HIT for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anni422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff made the experience exceptional. Thank you Martin for taking the time and care to make sure my son and I had an outstanding experience. We appreciate the care inside this beautiful package of comfort the hotel offers. The courtyard feel is inviting and the superior room was very comfortable. In my opinion, the staff at any hotel can make or break the experience no matter how the interior and exterior architecture are designed and maintained and this experience was made perfect by the staff. Thank you for taking care in our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double and it was on the first floor with a patio, the room was big enough a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabatha0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Great service! Once we got off the boat, bell hops were ready to take our luggages. Hotel in a great location. Breakfast and Wine tastings were awesome. Hotel personnel worked so hard to please guests and helped pigeons along.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel was terrific! Wonderful location - just a few steps from almost everything on the main street on the island. Lovely area outside to relax and take on the island breeze. Very clean room and bathroom. The rooms aren't huge, but the bed was really comfortable. Great customer service. I can usually find something to complain about, but i got nothin..... We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing