We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Better Grounds, Steps From the Beach, Great Cocktail Hour”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel came highly recommended from Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. We got off the Catalina Express and needed to wheel our luggage over to the hotel and the walk wasn't bad at all. Only 15 steps from the beach, this open-air horseshoe-shaped hotel was amazing. The interior grounds were tropical and pristinely manicured. Plenty of seating, secluded and otherwise, where folks can to sit and sip wine or enjoy the gourmet manager's reception. 10 different wines and a selection of fantastic cheeses were on display. Our room was small and faced down into the courtyard, but it was really perfect. Very modern but with a coastal feel. They got it right. All the restaurants and shopping were close by and the pier was literally across the street. Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. The wait staff made us lattes and I enjoyed fresh croissants with jam, sliced ham, and mango. Our boat back to LA wasn't until 5:15pm, and the hotel staff checked our bags at the desk and kept them all day. Top notch. We got what we paid for with this hotel, which is more than I can usually say.

Room Tip: The lower floor has "garden rooms" that have a very small private seating area. Save the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobT360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

My girlfriends and I were attending a special dinner on Catalina and had never been there. After a comprehensive review, we decided on the Pavilion and could not have been happier. The Hotel is an easy walk from the ferry - you can see it as soon as you start walking to town. The ferry gets you to the Island way before the rooms are ready but you can check in and they will hold your luggage so you can get lunch and walk around a bit. It's the off season, so the rooms were quiet in the evening. The late afternoon wine and cheese time was wonderful! The wines they selected were excellent as well as the different cheeses. In the morning, they have a wonderful continental breakfast which includes fruits, breads, oatmeal, some lunch meats, and hard boiled eggs. Of course, Juice and coffee as well. One evening we sat around the fire pit and met 3 women from Az. Very relaxing and full of fun. The courtyard is ringed with wonderfully comfortable lounge chairs - perfect for a nap in the sun.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The pavilion is a small hotel with a big luxury hotel attitude. We stay here annually with our dive club and some members have decided to spend more time enjoying the company and environment of the hotel more than diving all day. The staff is great, friendly and there to serve. It is in the middle of the Avalon experience on the beach. We look forward to return there every year. The only thing lacking in my opinion is a hot tub.

Room Tip: The back rooms have some alley golf cart noise, but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinman819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback about your stay and were excited to see you again this year. My team will be glad to hear that you found them friendly and helpful! We are definitely looking forward to seeing you again next year (or hopefully earlier).

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Came to the Island for the first time and was pleased that the hotel I had was very nice. My room was small and tidy. The tile on the bathroom floor needed cleaning as did the carpets, but the rest of the room was clean and quiet.Turndown service with chocolates, and nice bathroom amenities. My room was downstairs and I had a little private patio out front, refrigerator and coffee in the room.Wine and cheese each afternoon and a lovely breakfast in the morning. The firepit was enjoyable as was the garden area with a lovely lawn and large chaise lounges to relax on. Right across from the beach and close to all shopping and sights. I would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Everything about this place is first rate. The location is an easy walk from the ferry and near everything. The courtyard is lovely and the area in front by the "library" is great for people watching. They have a fabulous wine and cheese hour [loved the S. African Cabernet]. Rooms were clean, comfortable and pretty quiet. Also had opening windows which is always a plus. Great buffet breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let my team know that they helped to make your trip memorable.

It is nice to hear that you loved our wine and cheese hour, breakfast, and everything else that the Pavilion has to offer. We hope that on your next trip to Catalina that you come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

FANTASTIC!!! Came here on our honeymoon 10/11/13-10/14/13 and cannot wait to come back. The location is perfect. Three minute walk from the ferry and three minute walk to practically everything else. Right on the main thoroughfare and literally across the sidewalk from the beach/water. Great bar right next door. Great staff. Wine happy hour was fun with BIG pours :) Breakfast was better than your standard continental meal. The only negative was a slightly uncomfortable bed, but not enough to lose a star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent visit to Catalina. We were honored that you were with us on such a special occasion and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

My team and I appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor, thank you for your feedback. We will definitely look into your concerns. On your first anniversary we hope that you come back and celebrate with us again!

Best,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a treat! The Pavilion is conveniently located right off the Boardwalk and the ocean. Once you walk through the gate, it feels like you are in a tropical resort. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. My room was beautiful, clean, and had a comfy King-size bed. It was quiet, and had all the amenities one could ask for. The free cheese and wine tasting were delightful. The yummy breakfast provided was top-notch! I had fresh fruit, juice, assorted muffins, yogurt and coffee every morning, but there were other foods to choose from, as well. I spoke with other guests, and they enjoyed the hotel just as much as I did. My cousin and I went zip lining, and had a blast! There are many, many activities to do on the island, or you can just chill in a cabana by the water's edge. I will be going back to the Pavilion Hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Catalina Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel during your recent visit to Catalina Island. We were very happy to have you as our guest. My team and I were also very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. On your next trip back to Catalina, we hope that you come stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £132 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing