We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unrested in catalina”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2009

our most recent stay at pavillion lodge catalina was most eventful. our first stay was really great . this past weekend how ever was really unpleasant , it seems not all families can control their noisey children. we hardly slept a wink! . hats off to front desk nite crew handled our concerns immediently. if you have small ones to bring with you please supervise the noise level .

3  Thank socaltraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2009

Beautiful and Romantic Atmosphere. 60s style two story U-shaped lodge with lush tropical and private courtyard setting. Room is open and airy, extremely clean! and recently updated with soothing attractive colors and decor. Included continental breakfast each morning with coffee, OJ, Great selections of cereals, fruits, bagels and cream cheese, croissants, cinnamon rolls in the courtyard with tables, chaises, chairs. Small fridge and freezer inside the room along with a small coffee maker. More pillows than can ever be used on a very comfortable king-sized bed. Roomy closet with lots of wooden hangers. Ceramic floor tile inside large vanity with lots of Corian countertop space and bathroom. The one and only drawback, and it was minor for us was the low water pressure for the shower. It was adequate but a bit weak. We will recommend to others and definitely stay here again. Short easy, flat walk from the ferry landing dock. Entrance is right on the boardwalk near the pier. Close to shopping and lots of great restaurants! Yet quiet within the complex.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BBintheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We booked the midweek getaway at the pavilion it was great if you want to stay close to everything on the island this is the hotel the staff are excellent they are very nice and professional the room is very beautiful the breakfast is also great when they upgraded our package for free and gave us great tips to from what to eat to what activities are worth doing my husband and I had a great anniversery and definately come back

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank noorlight87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

A friend and I popped over to Catalina Island over Thanksgiving for 4 days. Neither of us had stayed overnight on the island before so weren't sure about hotels. We chose the Pavilion Lodge because of its location and great package price. After 3 nights and 4 days at this hotel, I can honestly say the whole experience was fantastic. The property is beautifully maintained, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location the very best. Every morning by 7:30 an extensive continential breakfast was laid out in the courtyard and remained for several hours.There was always plenty of tables and chairs available in the courtyard and from many of the tables you had a great ocean view.

The best part of this hotel is its location. It's right on the beach and steps from restaurants and shops, yet we found it very quiet (of course, it was off season). It was also just a short walk to and from the ferry.

We are definitely going back to the Pavilion Lodge!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank OdeliaGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

I booked our weekend at the Pavilion Lodge as part of a Cape Canyon package on the visitcatalinaisland.com website. It was a great deal considering it included boat transport to the island, baggage service to the hotel, 2 nights stay and 3 different tours (Undersea tour, 4 hour Unimog tour of the inside of the island with lunch and a 3 hour Kayak and hiking tour of which we were the only participants)

The hotel is in an awesome location - it's right on the boardwalk but far enough to one end to avoid most of the noise and crowds from a bustling Saturday night. You can easily walk one or two minutes to get to where all the tours depart and the distance from the large boats dock to the hotel is about a 10 minute walk (1 minute bike ride if you bring your own bikes - the Catalina Flyer charges $7 per bike round trip so it was worth it to bring ours along.)

The hotel was cute - the exterior is somewhat of a 1960's chic, but everything looked new and well maintained. We stayed the first night in one room towards the back of the hotel and had no problems although in the morning after our kayak tour we came back to an odd smell of sewage in our room (possibly because we left the fan on while we were out instead of the AC.) We alerted the front desk and they immediately moved us to another room on the same floor near the front and right next to the staff cleaning room. We had no issues with noise in either room.

The beds were comfortable and soft - we loved having SO many pillows to use and the comforter was deliciously soft. The bathrooms are simple, but very clean. There was an empty mini-fridge (which seems to have gone the way of the dinosaur in most modern hotels) in both rooms which we used to store leftovers and drinks for our own use. We borrowed DVDs at no extra charge from the front desk library at night and stayed in at night since there's not too much happening in Avalon after 7pm.

The staff was awesome - we asked them questions about everything from local church service times, restaurant recommendations and tour information - even where we might find a bocce ball set on the island (The hotel has a great lawn to play bocce ball, but there wasn't one to be purchased on the island, we looked.) They have a baggage check service and stored our bikes for us when they weren't in use.

On the day of departure, check out was at 11am, but our boat did not leave until 4:30 so they offered us a baggage delivery to the docks which made our life so much easier.

We had such a pleasant experience I would not want to risk staying anywhere else when we return to the island for more adventure. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Dinamet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed by the cleaning room and were awoken every morning to bumping and slamming of the maintenance staff cleaning the rooms. Quite annoying!
Also, there was a lack of communication between the front desk and the maintenance staff who knocked on our door during a late checkout, even with the Do Not Disturb sign on the door.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trip18California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Well ! I decided to go to the Catalina Jazz Fest after years of wanting to go and I went online looking for a hotel. I found this one at a REALLY reasonable price and it was right in the middle of everything and close to the water and all the reviews I had read were great so I booked it.......It was the best time I have had in a long time. I went on this little jaunt alone.

It is a quick walk from the pier where the boat lets you off. The staff is polite and courteous and helpful. I got there an hour earlier than check in and no problem my room was ready. The rooms are clean and stocked with Crabtree and Evelyn soaps and lotions. The bed was the best and the fridge came in handy for my items I had bought from Vons. The courtyard was such an enjoyment. People were out there with their wine and snacks, reading and enjoying the day. It was quiet even though it is close to bars, etc. it is very quiet. I hated to go. I truly could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cookingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £130 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing