We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Venue for wedding party”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Ellijay, Georgia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Venue for wedding party”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My daughter's wedding at Descanso Beach was enhanced by the wonderful amenities of Pavilion Hotel. We had rooms with the lanai and utilized the courtyard and lanai every chance we could. The breakfast and cheese and wine tasting in the afternoon was exceptional. Service was impeccable! We needed a place to stash the top of the wedding cake, and the hotel graciously offered their kitchen refrigerator. I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lledford47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    245
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
296
491
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The Pavilion has recently been renovated, with upgrades throughout: spiffed up rooms, a new wine bar, lush landscaping, and expanded outdoor seating with a fire pit. The rooms are small, but beautifully decorated and very clean. Pavilion is a little oasis right in the middle of all the Avalon action. We've been there before...we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We loved our stay at the Pavillion Hotel. After spending several days in San Diego and Los Angeles it was wonderful to relax for three days in Catalina. From the minute we arrived everything was taken care of. We arrived early and our bags where immediately stored for us. The front desk staff was amazing. We had rented a cabana at Descanso Beach and also had purchased tickets to the Zip Line Eco Tour(1/2 price with package). All of our tickets were in envelopes ready to go. We booked the unlimited package. The tours included with the package are booked each day. We checked what tours were available and decided on the Sundown Isthmus Cruise for that evening. We loved this Cruise especially watching the flying fish on our cruise back to Avalon. Each morning I awoke early, got a cup of freshly made coffee and watched the sun rise. When the rest of my family awakened we enjoyed breakfast and the beautiful view together. After returning from the zip line tour my husband and I were lounging in the garden when one of the staff approached and told us that the 5 pm wine and cheese was starting. Not only did they provide the wine and cheese they were excited for everyone to take part. The second day we decided on the nighttime undersea tour. The tour was cancelled but the staff was wonderful and gave us tickets to the undersea daytime tour the next day and tickets to mini golf for that evening. It was an old style course, well kept and challenging. Lots of fun. After we returned from mini golf we enjoyed relaxing around the outdoor fire pit. The next day our bags were once again kept for us until we were ready to leave the island. If you like they will transport them to and from the boat for you. The staff and amenities exceeded our expectations!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Travel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

this hotel has been redone since last year. it is even better! They have now incorporated the old House of Wood as a sort of cafe and now you can eat breakfast there and in front of the hotel in a patio area and watch the world go by. The food is much better- cappucino and starbucks coffee and Happy Half Hour (it's the recession) with wine and cheese. There is now a firepit to sit by in the evenings. The big lawn is a lot smaller, but they have added landscaping, and if you get a bottom floor room you can sit and have privacy. Small rooms, but Frette sheets!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibugypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

First trip to Catalina was especially wonderful due to the staff and amenities at the Pavillion Hotel. The gardens are beautiful. The guests all seemed to enjoy the 5pm wine and cheese service as much as we did, good breakfast also. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We just returned from a 2 night stay at The Pavilion Hotel in Avalon and it was amazing. From the moment you get off the boat - there is someone waiting to take your luggage for you to the moment you leave - they treat you like royalty (even my 9 and 10 year old children). The hotel is just beautiful and stepping onto their property feels like stepping into another world from the main drag in Avalon.

Each morning we had breakfast with a view of the ocean and every evening we either enjoyed wine while relaxing in the gardens or sat and met friends around the fire. The service was EXCEPTIONAL! No matter what we needed - there was always someone there to take care of our needs. In fact, one night we just needed a bottle of water and did not have enough money for the vending machines and instead of directing us by ourselves, Louis (we love you - Louis) ran down to the Von's and bought us a bottle of water with his own money. (Don't worry - we paid him back and more). But really .... who does that? The staff at this hotel does. I highly recommend it and if you can get a room that opens to the gardens. We stayed in a room that was more toward the back of the hotel but it is worth paying a few dollars more to be right in the middle of the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numbgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Took our 15 year old nephew for birtthday trip and had a tremendous time. We are talking about our plans to return. Very nice and comfortable without being over the top. Breakfast was tasty with lots of selection, nice to eat it on our patio outside our room. Loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well groomed. Cozy and warm to visit with new friends by the fire pit. We did the zipline tour and had a blast. Do not recommend the ghost tour what a waste of our time on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing