We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have been coming to this Hotel for over Fifteen years and absolutely LOVE it!! They pay attention to detail. Love the beautiful setting, the wonderful staff, the breakfast in the morning and the cookies and milk in the evening. Where else can you sit overlooking the beautiful bay of Avalon? If your looking for comfort come to the Hotel Vista Del Mar, you won't be dissapointed! Also the new manager Jessie is Awesome. If your looking to impress reserve an Oceanfront room, they come with private balconies and Steve's Steakhouse (right downstairs) will deliver your dinner to your room. Dosen't get much better than this!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    75
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
118
309
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great atmosphere, delicious cookies, room looks like what you see in the pictures. The staff was all friendly and eager to help. They could have been having a bad day but I would have never noticed because they gave me their positive undivided attention. I expect to have good service when paying as much as I did for this hotel room but they very much exceeded my expectations. It's as if they were reading my mind anytime I wanted to ask something. Place was secure and in the dead center of catalina strip.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jv3626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel is beautiful. The staff is super friendly. My mom and sisters stayed here for my 50th birthday. We drove golf carts, we shopped, sat on the beach, loved the kareoke bar - and ate at the Lobster Trap every night...3 days of paradise! Felt like we were on an island far away.

Room Tip: Ocean View is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playa del rey, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here for our wedding and it was the most beautiful place! We even took my bridal pictures at the hotel. When we arrived at the island to drop off our bags they let us into the room early!! It was a very peaceful stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edavis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Someone was always available for questions, directions, even suggestions to which restaurants to eat at.

What I especially liked about this hotel is that it is non smoking. Each evening fresh, hot cookies are served, along with milk.

The only disappointing thing is there "continental" breakfast. That was less desirable. The limited amount of pastries were not fresh. Cereal, apples, and bananas. Nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We thought the hotel was lovely, and very much enjoyed our stay. We loved sitting on the balcony eating the breakfast and free nighttime cookies. Very relaxing. We also loved that they held our bags before and after checkout so that we could enjoy the island without worry!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weihefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

From the moment my daughter and I arrived we were swept away. The staff was so friendly and went out of their way to please! Room was clean, roomy, and had a great comfy bed! Right in the heart of everything yet quiet and cozy!

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing