We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing as Always!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing as Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My family and I spent the fourth of July weekend at Hotel Vista Del Mar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the super comfortable bed and relaxing atmosphere to the evening cookies and milk, and the friendly staff that was helpful and welcoming. The prime location of the hotel makes it easy to walk anywhere in Avalon, and the balcony is a great place to unwind after a busy day. We look forward to next year- if not sooner!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    75
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
118
309
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Well let me tell you, this hotel was one of the best hotels on the island. Not only is the hotel located 5mins away from the ferry station, but it's also located right in front of the beach. The rooms were beautiful and all were nice. We had the pleasure of staying in the Avalon suite and it was super nice and spacious. The staff was lovely. Everyone in the hotel was nice and helpful. The hotel is actually located right above the steves steakhouse. There is also an ice cream shop located below steves steakhouse and a clothing store (which is a part of the hotel). At 8pm every night the staff puts out chocolate cookies and milk for guest and OMG! Let me tell you that is the greatest smell to go to sleep to. The DVD rentals and beach towels and chairs are free for guest use. The hotel even has some wine to choose from. Next time we go on a vacation we will definetly stay at the Hotel Del Mar. Thanks for everything. Rosalyn M Little.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynMLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We went with our 2 teenagers for the 4th of July, for 5 days and had such an amazing time! The hotel is so beautiful. We stayed in an ocean front room and the views were breathtaking! The beds and linens are so luxurious, we felt pampered and spoiled! We thought 5 days might be too much on Catalina, but it wasn't. It was so much fun and so relaxing. The kids were able to have freedom to explore and we were able to sit on our balcony and watch them on the beach right in front of us. It was perfect! We will definitely go back next year! Great hotel and location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenies04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

One of the great things about this hotel is that it's right in the heart of Avalon, right on the waterfront - but the rooms are above it all - along a balcony breezeway with awesome views. In the mornings you can just chill and watch the world come alive, and at night you can people watch all you want.

It's not the least expensive place I've stayed but I really like the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is an awesome hotel with super friendly staff. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and very clean with large flat screen TV and Jacuzzi tub. The courtyard and views are breathtakingly beautiful.

Hotel Vista Del Mar in the heart of Avalon and walking distance to the pier, restaurants, and exciting excursions. The staff was very helpful, researched availability, and booked our reservations (Parasailing & Submarine tour).

My daughter loved the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and milk that the hotel staff serves every evening.

We already booked our trip for next year! Next time its zip lining and an off-road adventure tour for us.

Thank you Hotel Vista Del Mar and staff for making our getaway the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagoboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Hotel Vista Del Mar is the best hotel on the island. The rooms are beautiful and come complete with hi-end beds, flat panel tv's and satellite programming. You probably won't spend too much time in the room due to the spactacular view of the entire harbor from the hotel balcony. The staff was really great laying out yummy breakfast in the morning and hot chocolate chip cookies at night. I have recommended the Vista Del Mar Hotel to all my friends and they loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehrg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larksville,PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Hotel was only a short walk from the port and everyone was so friendly. Only drawback was the 2 flights of stairs to get there but turned out not to be as bad as I thought. Room was very clean and bed was sooooo comfortable. Breakfast in the AM was very convenient and the cookies at night were a great touch.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTeddie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing