We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Spent our 30th anniversary at Hotel Vista Del Mar. If you are going, spend the extra money to stay in one of the Ocean Suites. Private balcony and wonderful views. Every staff member was wonderful. Fresh baked cookies and milk in the evening! We splurged for in-room massages. (Ask for Barbara - wonderful!!) We enjoyed dining at the Avalon Grille (fine dining/ocean view) and the Lobster Trap (casual). Both had the best fresh fish and I'm very picky!!! For a fun adventure take an evening boat ride with Captain John (Fishinado) and watch for flying fish. Great fun. Great guy. Have fun. M & J

Room Tip: Beautiful Ocean View Room, very comfortable bed, double jacuzzi tub, all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhalfpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    76
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
127
322
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent service, everyone was so nice. Loved the room. The hotel is just steps away from the beach. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellflower, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I enyoyed our stay at this very nice hotel. The staff was extra nice, it was only a short walk from the catalina express. It's locate right in front of the beach and upstairs from a wonderful steak house! We enyoyed our 12th anniversary there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdaniels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Fabulous experience! Great service and location! Little pricy. Small breakfast. But it still worked for us. Jacuzzi tub, we assumed two person but was only for one. Soft bed! Great fireplace! We would stay there again! Let us check in3 hours early!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snnowhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had the best vacation we have ever had. Staying at the hotel was like being at a 5 star hotel in Greece! Everything from the robes, to the warm cookies in the evening, and the Continental breakfast in the morning made the trip fantastic! Sitting on the veranda and looking at the ocean is a bonus! The rooms are immaculate, and they all have big screen T.V.'s and fireplaces! The staff was very helpful when needed. They booked our zip line tour for us too. That was a blast! We are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBusykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My family and I spent the fourth of July weekend at Hotel Vista Del Mar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the super comfortable bed and relaxing atmosphere to the evening cookies and milk, and the friendly staff that was helpful and welcoming. The prime location of the hotel makes it easy to walk anywhere in Avalon, and the balcony is a great place to unwind after a busy day. We look forward to next year- if not sooner!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Well let me tell you, this hotel was one of the best hotels on the island. Not only is the hotel located 5mins away from the ferry station, but it's also located right in front of the beach. The rooms were beautiful and all were nice. We had the pleasure of staying in the Avalon suite and it was super nice and spacious. The staff was lovely. Everyone in the hotel was nice and helpful. The hotel is actually located right above the steves steakhouse. There is also an ice cream shop located below steves steakhouse and a clothing store (which is a part of the hotel). At 8pm every night the staff puts out chocolate cookies and milk for guest and OMG! Let me tell you that is the greatest smell to go to sleep to. The DVD rentals and beach towels and chairs are free for guest use. The hotel even has some wine to choose from. Next time we go on a vacation we will definetly stay at the Hotel Del Mar. Thanks for everything. Rosalyn M Little.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynMLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing