We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This"”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

It was our 36th wedding anniversary and we wanted to return to Catalina where we had gone for our first anniversary. After searching web sites of every hotel on the island we chose Vista del Mar.
We purchased tickets on the Catalina Flyer out of Newport on a Groupon but found out later that the hotel offered the same discount if you stayed with them. We went directly to the hotel after getting to the island at 10:30. Check in time was posted as being 3 o'clock so they checked us in and held our bag till they called us when the room was ready. We went for a short walk to the casino and had lunch near by. As soon as we were finished with lunch we got a call from the hotel saying our room was ready. We were taken to our room and upon entering we very impressed with the cleanliness and decor. When I made the reservation I mentioned we were coming over for our anniversary. There was a bottle of Champagne in our room with a Happy Anniversary balloon attached making us feel very special. We did not stay in one of the two ocean front/view rooms but as it turned out for us we didn't spend that much time in our room to make that a priorty. The hotel has a balcony area near the check in desk with two tables that give you the same view. We sipped our Champagne, ate our complimentary breakfast and had our milk and cookies at one of those tables each day. The staff was very helpful and always had an answer to our questions. The hotel offers free movies you can check out to watch on your in room flat screen t.v. while in front of your fireplace. The time went so fast and before we knew it check out time had arrived . After checking out we had about five hours to wait for the Catalina Flyer to take us back home and reality. The hotel held our bag again so we could walk around some more. We played minature golf and then got our bag and said our good byes to the hotel staff. We would definitely stay at Vista del Mar again. I don't think we will wait quite as long to return next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    75
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
120
314
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great experience at Hotel Vista Mar....love the Ocean View Suite...almost do not want to advertise how great it is...so hard to get...have not stayed in other rooms, but, look gorgeous & just a great environment...if you have not been to Catalina...you must go...feel like you have gone away to a far away island....Hotel Vista del Mar is the best....this was our 2nd visit...tried somewhere else...very nice, but, not as wonderful as Hotel Vista del Mar....great staff, great view...great rooms...great location...will be back....

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are pricier...but gorgeous view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southbaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Comfortable bed, clean, well appointed continental breakfast and a gas fireplace in the room. Service was excellent. We had an interior room, off the courtyard, which I was fine with. Those seeking a view should be sure to book a balcony room.Expensive, but everything on the island is.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historybuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent two nights here and we had a wonderful time. We had one of the two front; ocean view rooms, which came with binoculars! The room was very lovely. The location was ideal. The bed was very comforatable. They had a continental breakfast and an evening fresh baked cookie. It was a very fun time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoLi2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had an amazing time on the Island. The Vista del Mar was an awesome hotel. Centrally located, very nice and accommodated our family size. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waco66_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our stay began months ago - at the last minute we had to move our reservation because my son broke his leg - despite their cancellation policy they did this with no problem. When our ferry was cancelled due to bad weather they called to tell us this (Catalina Express had already informed us). We were let into our room early when we arrived. The rooms are very nice - beautiful amenities, down to the really cheap mini bar. In the evening they have freshly baked milk & cookies that they will put in your room if you happen to be out then, or you can eat them from their 3rd floor terrace.
Only drawback is there is no elevator but the staff will gladly help you with your luggage. The staff is amazing - really nice, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast has a good selection of baked goods, yogurt, drinks and fruit. Perfect to start the day.
Location of course can't be beat - very close to the ferry, and all of the action in Avalon.
They would even watch our stuff on our last day so we could go snorkeling one last time and let us get changed in their bathroom.
They made our Catalina vacation perfect!! I couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed with our two teenage boys and had plenty of room for everybody!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Wonderful hotel with Wonderful Staff. Large room and that hard to find in Catalina. Definately would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing