We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...a slice of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“...a slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family has been staying at Hotel Vista del Mar for years. Miraculously, the Oceanfront suite became available this 4th of July....and I must tell you, I didn't want to leave the room! The deck is large and private. You can see the ocean from every corner of the room. Fireplace, big screen TV, blu ray for watching movies, keurig coffee maker, a fridge full of cold drinks, huge whirlpool bathtub (which also has a view of the ocean!), great soaps and shampoos and the best pillows and linens. Add to this, fabulous warm pastries in the morning and hot chocolate chip cookies and cold milk in the evenings..... definitely a slice of heaven.
The staff was wonderful and very eager to help make your visit enjoyable in every way possible. Five thumbs up for Vista del Mar!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    75
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
109
299
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in Catalina. The customer service was Great, they made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay a good one. its across for the beach and the view was beautiful. I cant say anything bad about Vista Del MAR, you cant go wrong staying here, GREAT place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just got back from a two-night stay in Avalon. We went Wednesday through Friday to avoid the weekend crowd and the cruise ship crowd on Tuesdays. I have been coming to Catalina for more than 30 years and this was the first stay at the Hotel Vista Del Mar for my husband and me. We stayed in room 102, one of the two oceanfront suites and it is unparalleled in Avalon for quality and customer service. The room is large with high ceilings and well appointed, with a large flat-screened TV and a beautiful fireplace that operates with a flip of a switch near the bed. There is a large, 2-person jacuzzi tub that we enjoyed both nights of our two-night stay.

In an age of dying customer service, the Vista Del Mar stands out most positively. Everyone we saw asked how we were and if we needed anything. Either they are all fabulous actors, or they were genuinely concerned that we were enjoying ourselves. I'm going with the second option.

Yes there are two flights of stairs to get there, as is the case with many hotels in an old, wonderful city. If you need an elevator, there are other places to stay. The hotel staff are always ready to help get luggage up or down the stairs, and some are reluctant to accept tips for this service.

Yes, there is some noise from the town below, but if you want quiet, why would you book a room on the main street? It didn't bother us at all and everything quieted down before it got terribly late. We really only heard the noise if we were on our balcony - couldn't hear much from inside our room.

The continental breakfast is average, but we always eat breakfast at Sally's Waffle Shop anyway. Still it was nice to be able to have a cup of coffee and a small bite first thing in the morning and then go out for breakfast later. They had bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal, pastries, whole fruit, juice and coffee.

The warm cookies and milk are a nice touch and they will leave some in your room if you plan to be out during the time they serve them (8:00 - 8:45 pm).

This was the most relaxing Catalina vacation we have ever had! We enjoyed our balcony, the beautiful views of Avalon harbor, reading, relaxing and people watching! We have found our new "go-to" hotel whenever we come back to Avalon. Thank you Juan Rodriguez and everyone at the Hotel Vista Del Mar for a wonderful vacation! =)

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean front suite if you can... you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzilaydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

It was our 36th wedding anniversary and we wanted to return to Catalina where we had gone for our first anniversary. After searching web sites of every hotel on the island we chose Vista del Mar.
We purchased tickets on the Catalina Flyer out of Newport on a Groupon but found out later that the hotel offered the same discount if you stayed with them. We went directly to the hotel after getting to the island at 10:30. Check in time was posted as being 3 o'clock so they checked us in and held our bag till they called us when the room was ready. We went for a short walk to the casino and had lunch near by. As soon as we were finished with lunch we got a call from the hotel saying our room was ready. We were taken to our room and upon entering we very impressed with the cleanliness and decor. When I made the reservation I mentioned we were coming over for our anniversary. There was a bottle of Champagne in our room with a Happy Anniversary balloon attached making us feel very special. We did not stay in one of the two ocean front/view rooms but as it turned out for us we didn't spend that much time in our room to make that a priorty. The hotel has a balcony area near the check in desk with two tables that give you the same view. We sipped our Champagne, ate our complimentary breakfast and had our milk and cookies at one of those tables each day. The staff was very helpful and always had an answer to our questions. The hotel offers free movies you can check out to watch on your in room flat screen t.v. while in front of your fireplace. The time went so fast and before we knew it check out time had arrived . After checking out we had about five hours to wait for the Catalina Flyer to take us back home and reality. The hotel held our bag again so we could walk around some more. We played minature golf and then got our bag and said our good byes to the hotel staff. We would definitely stay at Vista del Mar again. I don't think we will wait quite as long to return next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great experience at Hotel Vista Mar....love the Ocean View Suite...almost do not want to advertise how great it is...so hard to get...have not stayed in other rooms, but, look gorgeous & just a great environment...if you have not been to Catalina...you must go...feel like you have gone away to a far away island....Hotel Vista del Mar is the best....this was our 2nd visit...tried somewhere else...very nice, but, not as wonderful as Hotel Vista del Mar....great staff, great view...great rooms...great location...will be back....

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are pricier...but gorgeous view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southbaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Comfortable bed, clean, well appointed continental breakfast and a gas fireplace in the room. Service was excellent. We had an interior room, off the courtyard, which I was fine with. Those seeking a view should be sure to book a balcony room.Expensive, but everything on the island is.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historybuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent two nights here and we had a wonderful time. We had one of the two front; ocean view rooms, which came with binoculars! The room was very lovely. The location was ideal. The bed was very comforatable. They had a continental breakfast and an evening fresh baked cookie. It was a very fun time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoLi2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing