We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Catalina Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My husband and I just stayed here for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect, the room clean and nice and the staff knowledgeable and friendly. There were a few flies in the outdoor hallway, but really, there are flies all over the island. It's just apart of being outdoors. The outdoor hallway is very unique and beautiful, and the continental breakfast is an added bonus providing a nice snack before heading to get a big breakfast in a restaurant. The provided breakfast is enjoyable, but there are so many amazing places to get breakfast that you shouldn't miss out on, like Antonio's (get the macadamian nut and coconut syrup french toast -wow!) besides in my world everything is about breakfast so I can eat is all day anyway. The other thing I would mention is the fresh bakes cookies and milk they provide before bed, totally cool:)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shatci1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2008

I recently attended a wedding in Orange County, CA and had a couple of extra days to check out Santa Catalina Island just 22 miles off the coast of LA. Based primarily on comments on TripAdvisor, my wife and I settled on staying at the Hotel Vista Del Mar. Once I received confirmation we were scheduled to stay in Room 103, I was a bit worried based on a customer review on TripAdvisor in March 2006. Hopeful that the problem had since been addressed, we decided to stay at the hotel and it was an enjoyable visit.
Centrally located to restaurants and shops on the island, the hotel boasted a great view only steps from the beach. The room was well appointed with a king sized bed (quite comfortable bedding), a small bar area with mini-fridge stocked with snacks, and a nice gas fireplace to set the mood. The bathroom amenities (lotion, soap, shampoo, etc.) were of nice quality and 2 bath robes were provided. The room was spacious and very quiet despite being 10 steps from the main desk. A small continental breakfast and evening cookies and milk were offered, but busy with enjoying the island we passed on both. Though only there 2 days and 1 night, the stay was an enjoyable one, very comfortable.
To be slightly critical about a few items, the lobby and guestrooms of the hotel are located on the third floor of the building with only 2 sets of spanish tiled stairs for access and egress. Not a problem for us, but older visitors or travelers with heavy baggage might find access inconvenient. Also, upon arrival, the hotel may have been under-staffed as we had to wait some time (10-15 min) for a front desk attendant to check us in. Granted we arrived several hours before scheduled check in, but it was a little inconvenient. We we allowed to store our luggage securely, however, while our room was being serviced from a previous guest. Continuing with the room, it was well appointed and very clean though the bathroom was a bit dated. Also, for the price of the hotel stay, the towels could have been of higher quality to match the excellent bedding.
To end on a good note though, the staff was cordial, the room very comfortable, the location was perfect, and the view was spectacular. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to other visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bchotpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

The Hotel Vista del Mar is conveniently located right on Catalina's Avalon shoreline, about 5 minutes from where the Express ferry drops off passengers. From its third floor balcony it has a gorgeous view of Avalon harbor. However, a swarm of flies continuously make themselves at home during the sunlight hours right in the middle of the lobby mitigating the pleasure of hanging out there. There are a limited number of rooms available and we stayed at a Deluxe Room. It was cozy and comfortable and not enough can be said about the luxuriousness of having a fireplace operated with the flick of a switch right at the foot of the bed. On the slightly chilly first day we arrived, it was a godsend for getting the toasty back into our feet! Everything is extremely clean including the bathroom. However, the bathroom is very small and tight for two people to use at the same time and it is also somewhat old-fashioned. The great free toiletries offered are not only nicely proportioned to last a good week but they are from Gilchrist & Soames, a great plus! The front desk was not staffed very well during ordinary operating hours which made checking in and out and asking for information somewhat frustrating. Overall a nice stay but they could improve on some counts.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We had a wonderful stay. Very professional and courteous staff. Highly recommend one of the two ocean view suites. Spectacular view, fireplace was great. You will not be disappointed!!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank jfosters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We stayed for one night and had 2 rooms. There were 6 in our party (2 children)...we booked the basic courtyard room. These rooms are tight for that many people...2 people in this room is OK. The rooms are nice, clean and all have fireplaces. The location is great because it is on the main street and right on the beach. You can walk there from the ferry. Check their website if you are staying during the week, they run discounted fares for the ferry if you book a room...they do not tell you this on the phone. One note, there is NO elevator and you must take your own luggage up two flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greekgoddess-iwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

I will never stay at another hotel on Catalina Island again!

The staff was great. The service was phenomenal. A girl named Constance helped my wife and I out a lot. She is a true gem. She was kind and soft spoken.

I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure. Hotel Vista Del Mar ranks right up there with the 4 diamond properties that my company has sent me to. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crzy8cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

My Girlfriend and I went to Catalina and stayed at the Hotel Vista Delmar. We stayed in the Ocean View Suite for 2 nights and had an amazing time. Although, we went from Sunday - tuesday (slow part of the week) during the slow time of the year the town was dead, it was exactly what we needed. Just time to chill, relax, and enjoy the time.

The Hotel is Sweet! They serve milk and really good oatmeal raisin cookies from 7:30 -8:30 pm. The lobby is well furnished and decorated. The People working at the hotel were super cool. We actually booked a package with the hotel, 2 nights say + boat trip to a from + $32 tour voucher. When we arrived, we took our voucher to the tour company just at the end of the block. The Lady there was really rude, not friendly and not helpful so we decided not to take a tour. We went back up to the hotel and told the desk clerk about our experience. He then told his manager, and the next day the hotel manager very pleasntly and easily backcharged my card the $32 dollars, and found out who the lady at the tour company was and told her manager about it.

The location of the hotel is right in the middle of the main drag in Catalina and just across the road from the water. WE had a balcony overlooking the beach, and our room had a fireplace, a SUPER DUPER comfortable king size bed, and a jacuzzi tub. No complaints about anything in the room. Overall our stay here was really good, really fun, and really relaxing. I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelsonthelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £110 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing