We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like Italy...without the jet lag!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It feels like Italy...without the jet lag!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wonderful small hotel on the third floor of a building about 50 yards from the pier. We stayed 3 nights, the first in a courtyard room and the other two in the ocean view suite. Exceptionally nice staff, great coffee in the rooms as well as a quality continental breakfast and cookies with milk in the evening. Beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet. One thing to note is that our courtyard room had windows to the hall/courtyard which is kind of outside but not really. The ocean front rooms are at the hotel's front, three floors up from the promenade. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view and you'll have a great place to sit outside and watch the crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    76
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
126
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family stayed at Vista Del Mar only one night, but during that short time we were treated royally. When making our phone reservation, we spoke with a friendly and helpful staff member who remembered us when we arrived! Our room far exceeded our expectations, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and the cookies were fresh-baked and delicious. Above all, the staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The location of the hotel was a short but scenic walk from the pier. Having the beach in front of the hotel with a view of the ocean from the lobby was an added benefit. Complimentary use of beach towels and chairs was an unexpected perk. We made the right decision to stay at Vista Del Mar

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UWGBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was my first time in Catalina. Very glad we picked this hotel. It was conveniently located. The staff was excellent. We received a call when our room was ready. They held our luggage until we checked in. The room very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. There were blue ray dvd's to check out for free. They supplied us with beach towels. They even held our bags until our boat departed.Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great location in the middle of Avalon and a pleasant, short walk from the ferry pier. We liked the features of our deluxe courtyard room, especially the fireplace by the foot of the comfy king-sized bed and the wet bar. The complimentary continental breakfast was OK, but it was great to have it overlooking the beach from the lobby terrace. The fresh baked cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch, as well. There is a Von's grocery store nearby with a good variety of California wines and the rooms have a refrigerator. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Right in he center of everything in Avalon. Very homey place, rooms are very nice. serves a basic breakfast but the milk and cookies each night makes it the best!

Beach towels and chairs are free if you need them.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, the ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a second honeymoon. The location is great, right off the beach. The room was lovely and spacious. The decor both of the room and the open air loby was just lovely and a perfect place for people watching and relaxing. The staff was very helpful in helping us in planning our activities on the island and attending to our needs. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermamaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how easy of a walk it was from the Catalina Express. Upon entering the hotel we were warmly greeted and escorted to our room. Once in the beautiful room, the staff took the time to explain the features, gave us a welcome book with coupons and made sure we had no questions about what to do on the island. One of the things that exceeded our expectations was that beach towels and chairs were available at no additional cost. This was a huge bonus for my wife and I who flew in from out of state. Great location facing the harbor, beach out the front door, Steve's Steakhouse in the same building, activity pier directly out the front door, everything we needed. The milk & cookies, DVD library, breakfast, and fireplace were each nice added touches that contributed to an outstanding exprience! We couldn't have asked for more! Truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfnodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing