We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Belief”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Belief”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

First time to Catalina Island. Stayed one night at this amazing hotel. Very,very nice. Clean, modern and close to everything. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and kind. Highly recommend! Would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavisCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    75
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
120
315
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Vista Del Mar is a winner!! I love how inviting the surroundings are. A beautiful ocean view from the lobby and great spot for people watching too. It is quaint and has really outstanding staff. Stayed in the Cortyard Room. The bed was very comfy and the shower was deluxe. Liked it very, very much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossombud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family just stayed at Vista Del Mar and loved it. It is well maintained and super clean. We stayed in a room with a pull out sofa as there were 4 of us. The sleeper was really comfortable. They has fresh linens on the sleeper ready for us. They called two days prior to our stay to get our arrival time to be sure the room was ready.

The hotel staff were very kind. We have a special needs son with a wheel chair. They helped us carry the wheel chair up and down the stairs. They stowed our luggage on the day of departure for free. Only complaint was the other guests were very rude but not the hotels fault for sure. My son can't stand very long and was about to sit when some mean lady ran in front of him to steal the seat.

The breakfast was great and you can't beat the milk and cookies.

I can't wait to stay at the resort again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinderylapitt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We loved this hotel. It is conveniently located in the middle of town and near the pier. This is a small and yet lovely hotel with beautifully decorated rooms. The rooms look like they were just renovated with a fireplace at the foot of the bed, granite counters, and large walk in shower. The free DVDs, cookies and milk, and continental breakfast is a definite bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wonderful small hotel on the third floor of a building about 50 yards from the pier. We stayed 3 nights, the first in a courtyard room and the other two in the ocean view suite. Exceptionally nice staff, great coffee in the rooms as well as a quality continental breakfast and cookies with milk in the evening. Beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet. One thing to note is that our courtyard room had windows to the hall/courtyard which is kind of outside but not really. The ocean front rooms are at the hotel's front, three floors up from the promenade. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view and you'll have a great place to sit outside and watch the crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family stayed at Vista Del Mar only one night, but during that short time we were treated royally. When making our phone reservation, we spoke with a friendly and helpful staff member who remembered us when we arrived! Our room far exceeded our expectations, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and the cookies were fresh-baked and delicious. Above all, the staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The location of the hotel was a short but scenic walk from the pier. Having the beach in front of the hotel with a view of the ocean from the lobby was an added benefit. Complimentary use of beach towels and chairs was an unexpected perk. We made the right decision to stay at Vista Del Mar

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UWGBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was my first time in Catalina. Very glad we picked this hotel. It was conveniently located. The staff was excellent. We received a call when our room was ready. They held our luggage until we checked in. The room very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. There were blue ray dvd's to check out for free. They supplied us with beach towels. They even held our bags until our boat departed.Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing