We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View from an Amazingly Noisy Room!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Kenwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice View from an Amazingly Noisy Room!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

First I have to wonder about T.A. reviews drenched in enthusiasm but lacking in travel experience. But this isn't about how to write a review . . . it is to warn unsuspecting travelers who like some quiet and privacy to stay far away from this hotel. Yes, it has what others mention -- cozy, well located, etcetera, etcetera -- and Catalina is still loaded with charm. But for $425 a night, the hotel should have told us there was construction underway in an adjoining property, that children raced along the halls and up and down the stairs (located under our room) constantly, that the walls are paper-thin and the noise of scraping chairs and tables being rearranged is loud and clear as the adjoining restaurant cleans and sets up, and that if you keep your windows open to the sea breeze what you hear are people chatting, loudly, (or skateboarding) right under that cute balcony you see on their website. No consideration was offered for 2 sleep deprived days and nights. As for the rooms, only 2 have views and balconies; the others open onto a landscaped interior corridor. On the plus side, the personnel are mostly courteous, informed, and try to be helpful. The room was nicely appointed, the bed comfortable. Just bring your earplugs. Or head for someplace in the hills.

Room Tip: If you have earplugs, ask for one of the 2 rooms with balcony and view. And hope for the best on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaValleyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslanderAvalon, Owner at Hotel Vista Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Sonoma Valley woman:

Ouch, I am very sorry for what you describe as the perfect storm of noise problems. I do appreciate your comments that our “personnel are mostly courteous, informed and try to be helpful and that the room was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed”. Being on the oceanfront overlooking Avalon Bay and boardwalk can be a spectacular experience. Since we are on the third level set back from the boardwalk by our balcony this usually insulates us from most noise. We unfortunately do not have complete control outside of our property. Steve from Steve’s steakhouse is making improvements on the first level and I do apologize if any of his daytime remodeling disturbed you. All of our guest rooms do have double drywall with resilient channel, sound insulation and dual glazed insulated windows to provide our guests with the utmost of privacy and soundproofing. We do appreciate your comments as it helps us to work harder at trying to provide every guest with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

Sincerely,

Jerry Dunn
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    76
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
128
323
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just steps from the ocean, this recently remodeled boutique hotel is cozy and well accommodated with very nice room appointments and quest amenities. Good size rooms in comparison to most other hotels in Avalon which are commonly modest and on the smaller side. Breakfast is included, friendly, helpful staff, great housekeeping services. Evening milk and fresh baked cookies served, lovely ocean front terrace to enjoy the harbor views...Great off season rates Sun.-Thurs. includes boat fare. Our favorite place to stay in Avalon! Convenient location in the center of town. Good for couples, families, share w/friends, and solo.

Room Tip: The courtyard suites are very nice. 2 family suites available with private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TradingPlaces4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and had a great experience. The walk from the pier was a bit tiring with our luggage, (as I recently had surgery), but once we got to the hotel I called and they sent someone down to help us. The hotel is easy to find, but the front door is a challenge since you have to go up the stairs to the steakhouse on the 2nd floor and then on up to the hotel. Our room (#108) was great, just like the pictures and very quiet. Nice breakfast to start the day and the hotel is in a great location for walking around.
Although you can't book online and have to call, the staff, especially Alex, was wonderful and helpful. We had no problem with check-out. Didn't need to, everything was taken care of, just said goodbye to Alex on the way out and he helped us with our luggage down the stairs.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room #108 was a deluxe courtyard room with a king bed, sitting area, fireplace and bar area. Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is an interesting little Island but very touristy. You either fly to the small airport of arrive by boat from the mainland. The shuttle drive from the airport (USD 33) is very nice as it covers about half the island into the town. There is also a small harbour at the other end of the Island from the town. The Hotel is not easy to spot. It has a narrow staircase entrance between a couple of tourist shops. Climb up past a restaurant entrance and continue onto the third floor. There is no lift and no door men, so build your muscles if you have suitcases. It is quite an unusual layout set along a quite pleasant covered aisle. The room have very little daylight but are to a good standard and very clean and decent. There is neighbour noise creep from all sorts of directions. This is probably the best hotel in town but do not expect 4/5 star standards. Checkout takes as long as getting an Indian visa, so leave time. Pricey for what it is, but that is the whole island and there is no internet or email booking ability…you have to make a phone call! Maybe email has not reached the Island despite Internet connection?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful room and great service. This hotel was in a great location, you either have to walk to it or take a taxis. I did notice some of the other hotels met their guest at the pier, which would have been nice especially with their pricing.

Room Tip: Although they were not available on my visit, ask for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was directed to this hotel from Snug Harbor Inn, and I wasn't disappointed. I set this up as as surprise for my boyfriends birthday weekend, and he wasn't disappointed once we arrived either; and he is a picky one. We got the Courtyard Room, and it was perfect for 2 people. The hotel is located right in the middle of the main strip, which was great! Everything was walking distance and easily accessible. The staff was great and friendly. We got the birthday special, and the room was decorated with balloons and a bottle of wine. We chose the chardonnay, but wouldn't recommend it. Although were not wine snobs, it wasn't very pleasant to say the least.


The hotel will hold your luggage the day of check out if your not leaving right after check out. That was a BIG PLUS since we left 6 hours past checkout.


We would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle_P33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I took my boyfriend to Catalina as a surprise for his birthday last weekend. I would definitely say that Hotel Vista Del Mar is in a prime location. The staff are all nice, friendly and very helpful! The pricing is very comparable with the rest of the hotels on the island. They had a bottle of champagne and balloons set up for the birthday surprise and a card, it was so nice! The rooms are very cozy and generally I just LOVED this place. My boyfriend was also very impressed. The view was amazing and I thought that the inside of the hotel and the rooms were very nice. I would definitely stay here again and again. My boyfriend actually commented that he wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. I guess that means he liked it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing