We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of everything!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

But...being in the middle of everything has its down side. Noisy @ night if you're in an ocean view suite. Howver, we knew that going in, so we're not complaining, just informing prospective
customers.

Service throughout our stay was top notch.

Furnishings were very, very nice. Room was comfortable.

Continental breakfast was below average for a hotel of this price and class. Having a bold roast coffee, however, was definitely a plus for me!

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ocean View Suites are beautiful, but proximity to street and bars increases noise level considerably...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cristan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vista Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spent our 31st wedding anniversary here for one night in the Ocean Front Suite and it was fabulous!! The staff were fruendly and helpful from the front desk to maids!! View from balcony was the best but pricey but still top notch! Strafe of luggage pre and post the visit bade the trip worthwhile and you can't beat the lication!! We will be back soon thank you Hotel Vista Del Mar. Is Direct TV is a major plus!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lundahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel Vista Del Mar was absolutely great! Our family occupied two rooms at this cozy hotel. The rooms are very clean, modern decor and furniture, wtih very comfortable beds. The staff was very nice, accommodating and helpful. The milk and cookies at night made you feel at home and the continental breakfast was nice as well. I will definitely stay here again!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmooore25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great time at the hotel. Room was very clean and cozy. The staff was very nice and welcoming and the staff member named Alex was very friendly and informative and always made sure we had what we needed to make our stay on the island exciting and fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first trip to Catalina Island was lovely. The Vista is in a great location but has no views from the rooms. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is about the nicest hotel continental breakfast I have seen, and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JodieGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Highly recommended. Mia at the front desk was overly helpful, patient and accommodating. Such a cute little place, perfectly located on the water. All the staff was VERY helpful and took time to make our trip the fullest it could have been.
THANK YOU!!! Hotel Vista Del Mar staff!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tak3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

we spent our 'minimoon' at hotel vista del mar last weekend, and we truly can't say enough. the small staff were so personable and accommodating. from secretly calling the restaurant we were headed to for dinner to arrange a complimentary champagne toast, to making sure we had our nightly chocolate chip cookies...we definitely felt special and catered too. there is an extensive DVD collection of movies to borrow as well as beach chairs, both free of charge. location is great too (downstairs is steve's steakhouse...great drinks & food!) bottomline; if you're looking for a quaint, romantic place to stay that's clean, modern, & personable, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £107 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing