We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The best three days I have spent away from home ever!! Great hotel, beautiful views from the lobby. Great service, wonderful treats every morning and evening! Every employee there could not have been more helpful and just always with a great big smile!! We felt very comfortable and please look at our pictures we are adding of the beautiful room we had!! Prices very competitive as well as reasonable. They held our luggage on Sunday in a safe room all day till time to leave late in the afternoon. I absolutely cannot say enough good things about this fabulous hotel and its staff !! Thank you all so much and be sure we will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolaann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    75
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
122
318
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

What a lovely place to stay!
Neat, clean, right on the beach, superb room, quiet and very private. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the island. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and because it is "up" just a bit, it is still "out of the way". A great combination. We loved it. We would spend time here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldguy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My wife and I came here for a belated honeymoon during my R&R while being deployed in Iraq. We booked the Courtyard Deluxe room and informed them it was our honeymoon. I was stunned at how big the room was when we walked in. There was a minibar with a complementary bottle of champagne (for our honeymoon), a sitting area to the left, a beautiful king-sized bed and a closet with floor to ceiling mirrors. There was also a vanity area closer to the bathroom as well as an electric fireplace. Very cozy, comfortable and quite romantic. The only problem I had was the bathroom. Although it had a shower/jacuzzi tub combination, it was rather small for how big the rest of the room was. However, it had nice hot water and worked great during our stay. The hotel was centrally located on the island and literally about 20 steps away from the beach. The staff was exceptionally helpful on restaurant advice, activity advice and directions. Altogether a very, very relaxing and romantic time. I'd highly recommend this location to anyone going for a romantic getaway or weekend retreat.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiskeyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Whether you are going to Catalina Island on a romantic get away or a mini vacation with the whole family -- HOTEL VISTA DEL MAR is your hotel!

Location: It is literally 10 steps from the beach, walking distance from the piers and golf cart&jet ski rentals, lots of small shops and good restaurants around.

The staff are pleasant. Donna, one of the hotel representatives was very helpful and very nice.

The hotel room that we stayed in was immaculate! The bed is very comfortable with lots of pillows. All drinks, chocolates, mixed nuts, etc on the wet bar are not overly priced so we did not have second thoughts of drinking and eating what's on the wet bar -- it's very convenient :) One of many things I love about our stay at Hotel Vista is waking up in the morning knowing that breakfast is waiting for us @ the Atrium lobby.

We will come back next summer and will definitely stay at Hotel Vista Del Mar again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The location of this hotel is perfect -- right on the beach, so we didn't need to hike up hills to get home every time we went out. We found ourselves stopping back frequently during the day to drop things off or spend some time sitting on the balcony -- the two oceanfront suites have balconies, which are separated from the main lobby by curtains. This is the ONLY hotel we saw downtown that had balconies, and having one was a huge, huge plus. The oceanfront rooms are pricey, but for a special occasion it's worthwhile.

Keep in mind that this isn't LUXURY, though. The room was pleasant and clean, but not enormous or opulent. The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were nice (they even provide electric candles for a romantic atmosphere -- only complaint was that the towels provided were a bit small and shabby), the bed was pretty comfortable, the room was clean, but what we really loved was that balcony and the view of the beach and ocean. The nightly cookies and milk were a cute touch, but they're Otis Spunkmeyer, not homemade, and they only make one kind a night. Nice, but not vital. One night, the cleanup crew at the restaurant downstairs was a bit noisy, but it wasn't a huge problem.

I was a little irked that we got dinged $1.50 for a can of soda on our credit card afterward when we didn't drink any. It felt very nickel-and-dime-y for a place where we were spending nearly $400 a night. Not worth the time and effort to dispute, but it left a slightly negative last impression.

If I were going back on a casual trip, I might take a regular room to save money and get my beachfront experience by going outside. The extra splurge for the oceanview suite made our honeymoon very memorable, but the whole hotel shares the advantage of convenience and a pleasant general atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ratkite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We have stayed at the Hotel Vista Del Mar for over 10 years. And what a delight- it's like being at home, only better! With super comfortable rooms and a wonderful continental breakfast served in the airy atrium, this hotel is a treat. It's location is close to many activities and just steps from the beach. At night, they bake fresh cookies and serve them in the open air lobby- with cold milk, of course. And if you are out to dinner or on an outing they will even deliver them to your room if you ask. Hotel Vista Del Mar is a family tradition for us. We are so close to home, but feel so far from L.A. Thanks again to the wonderful staff! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My wife and I have been going to Catalina for 14 years. In the beginning it was just the two of us on romantic getaways. Now it's with the kids, friends and extended family. Five years ago we upgraded to the Vista Del Mar. It's just across from the Pier and beach and the balcony is perfect for viewing the harbor and people watching. There's a great steakhouse on the floor below and an ice cream parlor below that. We'd gather each morning for the complimentary breakfast on the balcony and then split off to hike through botanical gardens or swim, go to a movie or the museum at the casino or to a fabulous barbecue at Descanso Beach. Easily walked everywhere and felt very safe and comfortable at the hotel and throughout the island. You should know that the hotel has several different configurations - some with ocean view, some with jacuzzi baths. Most are roomy and each (we've stayed in three different rooms) are well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing