We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We just returned from our 4th of July stay at Hotel Vista Del Mar- and as always, we had a wonderful experience. The hotel is centrally located near everything; the beach, restaurants, activities, and shops are literally steps away. The accommodations are top notch- comfortable beds, clean rooms, large flat screen TV's, and a helpful and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast is served daily on the veranda and warm cookies and cold milk are served in the evening. Our favorite place to stay in Catalina, Hotel Vista Del Mar never disappoints.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    75
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
122
318
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The Vista del Mar is impeccable and never fails to deliver luxurious comfort. For those of us who love bedding....this hotel gets the best "pillow" award. Turn on the fireplace, grab a good book and sink yourself into luxurious bed linens. Can't beat waking up to freshly brewed Starbucks coffee and warm french pastries out on the veranda overlooking the bay every morning. This hotel is truly centrally located. Everything is literally at your doorstep...shopping, restaurants, boating, swimming, snorkeling. The staff is very attentive and will help you arrange anything from a massage to a zip line adventure.
This year I noticed new flat screen televisions, blu ray dvd players and a great selection of free movies. The kids look forward to the hot baked cookies every night.
We have been coming to the Vista del Mar for years and find it to be the perfect escape.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was an amazing trip and our 4th to this beautiful boutique hotel. The location cannot be beat overlooking the ocean and the harbor and directly in the center of town. The hotel is filled with beautiful plantings making the foyer a beautiful place to read, relax, enjoy the continental breakfast, or the warm delicious cookies and milk served every night at 7:30. We live in Los Angeles and The Hotel Vista Del Mar is a quick great escape especially with the entire family. The beautiful rooms and wonderful service from the staff makes these trips unbelievably pleasurable. If you have kids this is a great place to let them get a little independence as the hotel is so perfectly situated. You can even keep your eye on them overlooking from the balcony. We highly recommend staying at The Vista Del Mar for a terrific family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelvistadelmarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Really fantastic room (loved everything about it), great assistance (appreciated being able to leave luggage before we checked in and after we checked out). Loved being so close to all the action. We missed the cookie "time" but they brought cookies to our room.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snowflake57006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA CLARA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My partner and I stayed for a very nice anniversary get-away and to get the heck away from crazy work. It is smack-dab on the beach so no worries there. Furthermore, it was conveniently located to everything. The service was well done and we would stay there again. Nice continental breakfast but nothing uber (the typical. rolls, coffee, etc). Oh, very beautiful atrium that runs down the center of the hotel. Only negative was the heater/ac is a tad noisy but not a vacation-stopper imo. TIP: save money on wine and buy your own around the corner and bring it up to the balcony which has better views than most of the hotels in the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This hotel was very nice. Location was great and very central to everything on the island. We had a lovely stay. None of the rooms (with the exception of the front suites) have windows which open up to outside so the rooms were a tad stuffy and a/c had to be on constantly even though it was very temperate outside. Great lobby area for relaxing in the morning with coffee while overlooking the ocean. Milk and freshly baked cookies in the evening were a plus for our 4 year old son. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This was our first visit to Catalina Island and, thankfully, I trusted the advice of other Trip Advisor reviews. We had an incredible time at the Hotel Vista Del Mar! The rooms were well appointed, the staff gracious, & location in the heart of Avalon. My husband and I kept commenting about just how comfortable we were. The TVs, fireplace and wet bar (Courtyard deluxe room) were great! The attention to detail of the employees was very impressive. The hotel has beach chairs & towels you can borrow at no additional cost (even after you check out). The mini bar prices are the lowest I've seen ANYWHERE (and I've worked in the hotel industry and stayed at some fantastice hotels)! We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing