We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep coming back year after year”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keep coming back year after year”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Starting from my father, our family has been coming to Catalina for over 60 years! A few years ago we started staying at the "Inn." Can't say enough about the rooms, the breakfast, the afternoon wine, and do yourself a favor...the handmade granola! On a quiet street and only a short walk to the beach. Bill and Jeanie always have a good story to tell. Thank you Christa for all that you do and making our stays so wonderful!

Room Tip: They are all good, but upstairs rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
138
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The inn is a short easy walk from the ferry, right in town, a block and a half off the main street. The price was moderate and the service impeccable. You could tell it had been a part of the town for a long while, which made it feel authentic. We really enjoyed the hosts who were always accessible. The breakfasts were perfect, fresh lovely fruit, and inventive egg dishes were among the options. The two front rooms have cozy sleeping porches which are a nice place to read a book after a challenging hike on the Trans Catalina Trail. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, have already recommended it to others. Highly encourage taking the nighttime astronomy cruise offered by Kathleen and her husband, a beautiful way to see the stars at night on the water, and learn a little in the process at a very reasonable price, don't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saysomething123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A long drive down from B.C., 5 frenzied days in L A, then 2 beautiful days and nights on the Island.
We toured and walked a bit - but the best part of the stay was The Old Turner Inn. Somewhat pricey for Canucks, but worth it. We liken it to visiting Christie and Kathleen in their home. Snacks and wine, a chance to meet a great diversity of people, and delicious breakfasts. The location is perfect - close to the "strip" but not noisy.
Thanks for the perfect weather, folks. We would love to return.
Andrea and Rob Brown

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the house are cooler. The king suite is large with a great sunroom, and pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Mts.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Service that you only expect from your mother. The room was great. Our second stay here. The only place we will stay on the island. Thanks Christa. Joe & Cynthia 6/3/12

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrotinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Catalina Island and staying at The Old Turner Inn made it even more special. Warm, cozy, and clean. Kathleen was a great hostess and makes a yummy breakfast. Love that granola. I only wished we could have stayed longer than one night. I have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great experience. Very clean, staff is very friendly, atmosphere is relaxed. Christa is the pefect innkeeper, and her breakfasts are fantastic. Make sure you try the granola, as they are making it in house.
Our room was sunny, cosy, spacious, and had a real fireplace. Location is great, as the inn is located few blocks from all the attractions we were looking for. We simply loved it, and we will stay here from now on when visiting Catalina Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldTurnerInn, Owner at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - and thank you for the fantastic review. Christa is the perfect Innkeeper, and we love her, too! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Inn is an easy, quarter-mile walk from the dock for the Catalina Express, and every service that we needed was within a few flat blocks. I was constantly struck by how safe I felt at the Inn and on the island in general. The staff and the neighbors look out for Inn guests and for one another.

Innkeeper Christa runs the place with great competence and graciousness, and her recommendations for us were spot-on. Realizing that we were avoiding organized tours and wanting us not to leave the island before seeing more than the Avalon area, she proposed that we take the airport shuttle. It was a comfortable ride (not hot, bumpy or dusty) in the same van that the airport workers use to get to and from work. We saw some gorgeous scenery and a bison, got a good feeling for the island as a whole, and enjoyed the exhibits and lunch at the top. It was a memorable experience that we would not have had without Christa’s gentle nudging.

Knowing the expense and difficulties of transporting produce and other items from the mainland to Catalina, I was pleasantly surprised that the fruit platters every morning had items like mangoes, kiwis, blueberries, and raspberries - all artistically arranged. Another healthful breakfast option was the house-made granola, which the Inn has available for sale. As soon as I tasted it, I knew that I’d be buying some to take home.

When I saw other tourists waiting at stops for shuttles to and from their rooms elsewhere on Catalina, I was happy that I could easily access my comfortable Inn room at any time. My husband and I enjoyed all the other guests and the staff, and were happy to have the Old Turner Inn as a home-away-from-home for a week.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs would be quieter than the one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ell008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time - and that you made the trip into the interior of the Island. Catalina Island Granola is our specialty - and we are glad that you enjoyed it! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Property: The Old Turner Inn
Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing