We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked the Queen room for an overnight visit. Our innkeeper, Krista, easily one of the most gracious people we have met in a long time took care of every need and provided us with a litany of information, privy only to long time islanders which helped make our stay there so much more enjoyable than a corporate venue. We had a lovely homemade breakfast served promptly at 9 (coffee provided even earlier at 7:30) as Krista helped us map out our day on this Southern California Oasis.
The room is spacious, with thoughtful and charming touches like hand-sewn throws on the Victorian era rocking chairs and
beautiful lace on the daybed-the sitting which faces one of the quaint, sleepy streets of Avalon. We will return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Add1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We chose Old Turner Inn because the TA reviews were so good. And they were spot on. Warm, welcoming service. Delicious breakfasts. Lots of information, directions, suggestions about what to do, where to eat, and how to get there. A short 5-10 minute walk from the boat. Comfy bed. Quiet. Especially enjoyed the afternoon wine & cheese gathering to meet fellow guests and the 96 year old owner who stopped by to share stories and history of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room, the only one on the main floor. Glad to not have to climb stairs. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samyers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As with many other reviewers, our experience at The Old Turner Inn was wonderful. It was everything I was hoping for in a bed & breakfast inn. A charming old house, it has been converted to a peaceful get away retreat. We stayed in the Seashell room upstairs which was clean & cozy. The front living room and dining areas were an inviting area to rest and chat with new friends who we later met in town. The service was above and beyond. Our hostess did everything she could to ensure a pleasant stay. She even supplied us with beach chairs, towels, and a tip on the best "beach" area to stake out a spot. The breakfast offered a selection of homemade delights to start your day. The location of the Old Turner Inn was perfect, just a couple of blocks up from the main frontage street in Avalon. By the end of our stay we were getting good-bye hugs which made us feel as if were leaving family. We hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydiner1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our friends had never been to Catalina. We treated them to a trip over with the great half of groupon deal. I found the Old Turner Inn and read the reviews online. I was impressed by the personal service from the time I made the reservation to every moment until our goodbyes. Homey, welcoming, wonderful hostess, amazingly compfy beds, delicious homemade breakfast and granola, relaxing happy hour, friendly and interesting guests, and overall wonderful atmosphere. The pictures on the site do not do it justice. Easy to walk to from the Pleasure Pier. We even got to meet the 96 year old owner who was so sweet and joined everyone for happy hour. So charming! You will not regret this stay. Very reasonable price too. We are definitely going back!

Room Tip: Big California King bed in the Seashell room. We chose the big bed over our friends Queen Suite but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesamama5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our stay at The Old Turner Inn was wonderful. The hostess, Kathleen was delightful. She did everything she could to make our stay more pleasurable. The breakfast was delicious and so were the appetizers during happy hour. Our room was clean, comfortable, and niceley decorated. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Old Turner in is great! The Innkeepers are personable and helpful. The room we stayed in was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect. Two blocks to the center of Avalon. A wonderful place to spend a weekend at.

Room Tip: The two front rooms would be noisier. Our room was upstairs, on the side and was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We arrived 10:30 AM Friday of Father's Day weekend and the walk up 1 1/2 blocks from the main ferry road with our overnight bags was not at all strenuous. There are welcome letters waiting for the guests but our charming hostess, Krista, was there and gave us the happy news that our room was ready for us. We had the King Suite which has a 2nd balcony room overlooking the street, containing a twin-size day bed with trundle. Beautiful furnishings and oil paintings and the bedding was luxurious. We certainly slept well.

As it's a corner room, multiple windows open on both sides, allowing breezes, although the balcony window facing the street let in a lot of the street noise. (You think golf carts aren't loud, but when you're right over them, and they make deliveries during the night...) But just close those windows and keep the side ones open and it's cool and quiet. And that was all the noise there was - we've been on Mackinac Island, another heavy tourist island which had loud partying late at night, but not so with Avalon.

The house is filled with period appointments and pictures of family lineage (ask to see the photos of the owner's dress first worn at the Casino's opening, then again at its 50th anniversary and then its 75th! by the next generation). Krista was attentive both in answering any questions and in continually offering us drinks both evening and morning.

We were pleasantly surprised that wine and appetizers consisted of hors d'ourves fit for any upscale restaurant and very good wine. Choices were white and red. Hubby had the red, which I didn't taste :c, but the white was simply delish. We became engrossed in conversation with other guests and Krista kept refilling our glasses - lasting well past the advertised 30 minutes. Oh, and that recalls another surprise - above our fireplace were a dainty decanter & cordial glass set, filled with wonderful sherry.

The downstairs seating is a living room set in front of the fireplace, table for 4 in front of the piano. Then in the front sitting porch a table for 6 and another table for 4. Lots of options here and plenty for all.

We were fortunate our weekend was one of M Restaurant's specialty openings - executive chef Katherine only opens for dinner once a month or so for holiday or event weekends (Mother's Day, etc.) Krista highly recommended it and rightly so. Their specialty menu for Father's Day was a hoot and delicious. Well worth a visit if your stay coincides. Sit on the glassed-in patio overlooking the bay.

Breakfast was also on par with the rest - yummy egg casserole, sausage, bagels, muffins, homemade granola (they sell it so ask for some to take home), yogurt and juices. Good jams, too. Our ferry left late in the afternoon but we were able to store our luggage under the piano. Another couple checking in early left their things in front of the fireplace.

All in all, just the experience we were looking for as this was a "splurge" for us and since it was a late 25th anniversary celebration, highly anticipated. Also, our 14 yr. old daughter was with us (I know, what? on an anniversary! but it was combining a family vacation since we're 1,000 miles away, so it was nice the french doors afforded privacy. :D ) but she was included in the same hospitality shown to us. Also, Krista immediately found her bandages for a severe skin abrasion she incurred from a snorkeling bungle on the rocks. So of course, we hated to leave.

Book with Turner Inn and have a wonderful time exploring Catalina Island!

Room Tip: I only rated the swimming pool excellent because I couldn't figure out how to remove it from con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £112 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing