We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lucky find!”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Charming place, conveniently central but thankfully quiet. Good eats & drinks. Best of all is the hostess, Kathleen. Avalon born and bred, she knows everything about everything about the island, and is a wonderful resource. She also represents the heart at the heart of the B&B experience: welcoming, helpful -- and a good cook!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've stayed twice at the Old Turner Inn for a weekend getaway to Catalina Island, and each time the service was above and beyond.

We've stayed in both the Queen Room and King Room and have no complaints. Both are large, comfortable, and easily accommodate more than two guests. We peeked inside the Wicker and Seashell rooms, and would probably choose the Seashell because the bathroom has lots of natural light with two windows.

They have a 1/2 bath downstairs which comes in handy should the one in your room be occupied, or should you wish to change clothes before you check-in or after you check-out. They also let you store your luggage in the living room under the piano before you check-in or after you check-out so you don't have to haul it around the island.

9:00 breakfast is fantastic with a nice hot dish every morning, and coffee is ready before 8 a. m. for that early morning caffeine fix. The wine and hors d'oeuvres from 5:30 - 6 every afternoon is also a nice time to relax and chat with other guests.

Krista was also kind enough to let us check-out late since we wanted to snorkel one last time, then take a nice hot shower and change, before we left the island in the afternoon. A hotel would probably never let you do such a thing.

The location is also centrally located, just down the street from the Green Pier. But it's also a few blocks back, so waterfront noise isn't a problem at all. The only noise at night are the occasional golf carts puttering by.

Since we visit Catalina Island annually, we will definitely make the Old Turner Inn our home away from home for years to come, and we met a couple there that has been doing just that for the past ten years. Truly paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderLust M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 2 day weekday stay at the Old Turner Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. Kathleen was a wonderful host! The breakfast was terrific and the room was very nice (Queen Room). We slept well and during the course of our stay we met Kathleen's Dad who told us stories of a bygone era as well as the history of the Inn. Kathleen gave us excellent advise on several eateries in the area and some ideas for tours as well.
It was a wonderful couple of days away. I would recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: The Queen Room has a little sun room attached out front along the boulevard. There is some traffic e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and could not if picked a better b&b. it's a lovely laid back place. The room was great (queen room) with nice views of the hills, breakfast was very nice. The owners are real nice people. Thanks Kathleen xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Loved our stay at the Old Turner Inn. Kathleen made us feel welcome, the breakfasts
(especially her homemade Catalina Granola), were amazing and the rooms were very clean with super comfy beds. It was not uncommon to see people sitting in the living room reading and chatting by the piano - something I truly love about the B&B experiance. Lot's of interesting antiques and history to be had as well, especially since the family has been on the island for more than a century. They were exceptionally helpful when asked about things to do and where to eat, and could pretty much answer any questions you had about the island, past or present. A charming place I would book again and again. Thanks Kathleen for your flawless hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I wanted to get away for my birthday and found this lovely B & B on Trip Advisor. The reviews were great so my husband and I booked our stay for 3 nights. What a great experience we had.The service could not have been better, Krista was amazing with her information on where to eat, what to do, the beaches to go to..... She even got us a reservation for lunch at the Mt. Ida Hotel (Old Wrigley Home). We stayed in the Wicker Room and it had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The breakfast each morning was delicious and I liked that it was served at 9:00 am as it gave you time to sleep in and casually make your way down to eat. I cannot say enough good things about our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBTravelerIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked the Queen room for an overnight visit. Our innkeeper, Krista, easily one of the most gracious people we have met in a long time took care of every need and provided us with a litany of information, privy only to long time islanders which helped make our stay there so much more enjoyable than a corporate venue. We had a lovely homemade breakfast served promptly at 9 (coffee provided even earlier at 7:30) as Krista helped us map out our day on this Southern California Oasis.
The room is spacious, with thoughtful and charming touches like hand-sewn throws on the Victorian era rocking chairs and
beautiful lace on the daybed-the sitting which faces one of the quaint, sleepy streets of Avalon. We will return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Add1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £114 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing