We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B experiance!”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent two nights at The Old Turner Inn and enjoyed everything about it. The room as clean, the bed was comfortable and the location was less than two blocks from the beach and pier which works out perfectly as it is nice and quite at night. Kathleen and Christa were very friendly and cooked the most delightful breakfasts! The sitting area downstairs had several historical books about Catalina Island. Upstairs you have a great selection of videos to select from if you feel like kicking back for a while. A really nice touch is the original artwork in each room and the downstairs areas which were done by visiting artists. All in all a really nice mini-vacation and we would recommend TOT Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaceCarDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at the Old Turner Inn over Memorial Weekend, probably the busier of the weekends to be on the island. The town was crazy but The Old Turner Inn remained a peaceful getaway from the crowds just a few blocks away. The Inn is conveniently located close to everything you need. Kristy, the Manager,is just a sweetheart and very accommodating. She makes a great breakfast, which is a huge plus every morning. The entry and living room area is very warm and inviting. You can choose to meet the other guests or keep to yourself, it's up to you. We will stay here again. We felt like we were staying with a friend of the family or something like that. We were offered beach towels and even got a ride back to the boat as we were running late. Very good experience.

Room Tip: If you have a guest sleeping in the spare bed of a suite, a sleep mask might be a good idea if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I planned a surprise getaway for my husband who had never been to Catalina before and I chose The Old Turner Inn because it sounded so much more intimate and cozy than a standard hotel. I'm so happy I did. We stayed in the Seashell Room and were very pleased. The room and bathroom were very clean and the king size bed was one of the most comfortable we'd ever slept on. Kathleen is a delightful inn keeper and she makes a delicious breakfast. There was a wine, soda, cheese & cracker cocktail hour we also enjoyed.The location was convenient and quiet, just up the street 200 yards from the beach and many shops and restaurants. Kathleen was so nice and even drove us to catch the Catalina Express ferry in her golf cart the day we left.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love5pets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our family of 3 (parents plus 14 year-old son) wanted to stay in a B&B for a more intimate Avalon visit, and we were encouraged to stay at the Old Turner Inn after reading other TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. So many B&B's are commercialized, where the inn owners or family have long-ago checked out and contracted management to an innkeeper who goes through the motions, however competently that might be. That's not the case, though, at Old Turner Inn, whose innkeeper Kathleen is a member of the family which owns the property. We were greeted very warmly by Kathleen, who as an Avalon native, knows the island inside and out and had one great suggestion after another, ranging from restaurant advice to daily activity recommendations, with phone numbers and time schedules amazingly well-memorized. Our king suite room was the perfect arrangement for the three of us, with our son on a twin sleeper in the front sunroom adjacent to the main bedroom. The delicious full breakfast was thoughtfully prepared and consisted of fruit, homemade granola, yogurt, juice, bacon, and bread pudding one day, and baked eggs with croissants the next. The afternoon appetizer period included crackers, cheeses, nuts, and wine. The B&B is so centrally located, close to the tour plaza and the waterfront shops and restaurants. We greatly appreciated Kathleen's genuine warmth and flexibility (we had an early departure and she ensured we had a great breakfast to start our morning)--thanks for a great stay!!

P.S. -- see our other review of Kathleen's fabulous astronomy nighttime tour of the skies listed under Catalina Coastal Tours

Room Tip: We enjoyed the King Suite, which was a great arrangement for parents traveling with a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My new husband and I came here for our week long Honeymoon in the Queen Suite.This Bed and Breakfast was an excellent place to stay. Kathleen (the hostess) is the sweetest person you can meet, and she has tons of stories to tell. Ask her where the best places to eat are and she'll tell you. Her breakfasts are delicious and filling every morning. She does a small appetizer and wine/champagne in the early evening which is a great way to meet some of the other guests staying in the house as well. You are walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and pier. You're right across the street from the mini golf course which is a fun trip. The rooms are all very open and have a homey feeling to it. There is not one negative aspect to this place. Give it a go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Although inn is older, the inn keeper is very nice and makes stay pleasant, warm. Daily breakfast, easy walking distance from pier. Bring good shoes, you need to walk everywhere or rent $40/h golf cart, or pay taxi same for few minutes drive. Best to be a high functioning walking person to visit catalina. This place is charming.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I spent three wonderful nights at the Old Turner Inn. The Inn is charming and Kathleen is a gracious hostess. She offered recommendations for restaurants and activities and was more than accommodating to my personal wants. My room had a fireplace, which was a nice touch and warmed the cool evenings. The location is a short walk from the beach, ferry and center of Avalon. Great breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. I couldn't have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £112 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing