We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Birthday Laurie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PennyLane09
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday Laurie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

The Old Turner Inn is everything you would or could imagine a Bed & Breakfast to be! Gorgeous, homestyle, immaculately kept home, elegantly decorated and so comfortable. A "home away from home". We cannot wait to get come back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyLane09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
138
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

The family owners of this great B&B helped us with a golf cart ride to visit the botanical gardens, connected me to the guy who could help me retrieve my lost sunglasses, advised us well on so many local knowledge things! The appetizer/wine hour was wonderful with stories of the island from their long experience there. The room was wonderful, the breakfasts unbelievable, and we happened to have the place to ourselves midweek, and just barely pre-season. It was a little more than we could really afford, but then, all of Catalina lodgings are high. When I asked other folks where they stayed and what they paid, I felt smug that we obviously had the best deal all around. The location is walking distance from everything in town, including the boat ferry dock where you land.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraMontereyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Old Turner Inn for two nights in March 2009. We stayed in the "Queen Suite". The inn is ideally located, close to all the happenings yet far enough to have a peace & quiet of its own. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are delicious but the heart of this inn lies in the exceptional warmth of its hostesses.

From the moment I made the reservation through email/ phone, the reception was inviting. And while at the inn, we spent two wonderful evenings by the fireside sipping complimentary wine generously offered by the hosts, listening to the enchanting tales and yarns and life stories of Jeanne & Bill. We couldn't have enough of it..!

In a nutshell, all that was offered was given generously making the inn, a heart-warming & resting place for the traveler. We hope to return soon to the magical Avalon, the bewitching inn, but most of all the charming hosts.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwatiMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

My husband and I visited Catalina Island for the first time and our stay at the Old Turner Inn was a joy to say the least. We felt so at home and my husband just loved the family atmosphere. Jean and Bill had great stories from the past that we really enjoyed hearing about. Gina was a great hostess. We will never forget our visit with them. We hope to visit and stay with them again soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

This was our first trip out to the island. We had no idea what we wanted to do or where we wanted to go. The gals at The Old Turner Inn made us feel right at home and gave us many excellent recommendations for fun things to do on the island. The Inn was wonderful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had lots of character. Breakfast was excellent, I have tried to duplicate their breakfast selections and have failed miserably! It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. The gals at the Inn really helped to make this trip incredible. I can't wait to come back to the island and stay at The Old Turner Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green valley lake, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

the Old Turner Inn provides a comfortable homelike atmosphere and is right in the heart of Avalon so that it is easy to walk around the town. The breakfasts are delicious and have something for every taste. the afternoon appetizers and wine were a great time for conversation and comraderie. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. There is public internet available which is a plus for me. It would be nice to have a little table and chair in the room so I could run my laptop more comfortably. The hospitality is wonderful. They did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable yet were not intrusive.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed at the Old Turner Inn for 1 night in the King Suite. The room was immaculate with a wood fireplace and a very comfortable bed. The attached sun room was a real treat. We started our morning off with a cup of coffee while basking in the morning sun. The coctail hour by the fire was very relaxing and the breakfast was wonderful. Kathleen was very gracious and took care of our every whim!. Next time we will be sure to stay for a 2nd night!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelin_fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#13 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Property: The Old Turner Inn
Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing