We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS!!”

Review of 153 Crescent Ave.

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Avalon, Catalina Island, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this rental home for the views and I was not disappointed. It was also very large and spacious for our group of eight people. It was fully equipped with everything we needed to have a great time and close to town, grocery and our boat. We cooked a lot and the kitchen was fantastic!! We enjoyed sitting on the outside deck and watching the sunsets and the boats. Fantastic property. The only small negative were the beds (not so comfy) and the bedding seemed very old. For the price of the rental it would be a quick fix for the owners to upgrade the beds. Other than that - Book it - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: The beds and bedding
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: mattress and beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PAC683
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“Beautiful view and great location. A little dated, but comfortable.”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay. The house is located conveniently above the harbor and has a terrific view. The available golf cart was a real bonus. My daughters and I we able to explore Avalon and the environs easily. The property was a bit dated inside, but fully functional. The front door lock was a bit finicky. The drapes/curtains in the master bedroom were jammed half open and could not be moved. Otherwise, everything seemed in working order. When we arrived at the rental office, the staff handed me an envelop with the keys and said to empty the garbage, fill up the tank on the golf cart and return the keys when done. I wasn't given any guidance as to anything else at the property. It wasn't that they were unfriendly. It was as though I knew exactly what to do and that everything had been checked out in advance and was fine. I had the sense they were very busy and didn't have time to focus on me. When I returned the key, the man there was very friendly. Overall, a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and included golf cart
Liked least: A few items not working. Perfunctory interaction with and guidance from rental company upon arrival
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Maintenance is addressing the drapes and front door lock. Regarding the golf cart...this property does not offer the use of a golf cart. Approximately 1/3 of our properties do come with a cart, so perhaps the staff misspoke at check in. If you did use a cart during your stay, apparently you borrowed one in the neighborhood. We're glad you had a nice time, and do come back and see us again.
CIVR Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“GREAT VIEW but...Beware of MAJOR construction project across street”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Other reviewers have posted the limitations of the rental, with which I concur. Rented till June 15, 2015. Be aware that there is a SIGNIFICANT long-term remodel project going on on the other side of the street during the week. Expect a cacophony of sounds, smells, hub-bub and debris. Saws, nail-guns, routers and sanders. It also appears that at least some of the construction workers live on the property during the week (think cases of beer, noise and BBQ action after work). Such a lovely way to relax and enjoy your vacation! I was told by the "on-site" construction manager that CIVR was aware of the construction project, as previous renters had complained to him about the noise. When I brought it up with CIVR it was "Oh, really? I wasn't aware!"

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckasuue
Pasadena
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great View but needs some remodelinh”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just got back from staying in this home. The home is far enough away from town to make it nice and quiet at night. The view is fantastic and the roominess of the living room area made it very comfortable. What I don't understand is why the owners won't do what most of the commenters are asking and remove the mirror in the hall so that the bathroom can be accessed from the hall and not only through the bedroom. The amount of money this place is for the night should warrant a bathroom re-do or reconfiguration. There is only one shower upstairs so be warned. The other powder room off the other bedroom is smaller than an airplane bathroom...I'm seriously not exaggerating. I had to straddle the toilet to shut the bathroom door. There also needs to be access to the downstairs bedroom. The view is worth the hassle but the owners either need to be very clear about the bathroom situation or lower the nightly price.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing