We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff”
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I was quoted a price for 2 nights at $150 plus tax. Never received an email confirmation after I asked for one. Upon arrival was charged nearly $40 more. Staff/manager was very rude.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank adguyojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fdatthehc, front desk management and staff at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2008

in response to people writing about price quotes etc, we give what is available at that time. If the guests hesistate then call back later,then we give them what is available then. Also, a depoist is charged for the 1st night so it is impossible not to know before your arrival ,what you're paying per night. We e-mail each guest their conformation letter ,if their e-mail is working they will receive it.
I would also like to note this person brought in a 3rd person for thier 2 person reservation ,which they didn't want to acknowledge while pointing out all the details.
we do not allow "stacking" of guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2008

I was nervous about this hotel before I even arrived in Avalon due some not so good online reviews, but I wanted to see for myself. The front lobby is very quaint/homey. The staff, however, leave alot to be desired. On the whole, I found the staff bored, jaded, unhelpful, and unfriendly. The room I stayed in was a very small, victorian style room. The carpets and bathroom was filthy! My white socks were black after 5 minutes in my room. There was mold and mildew on the bathroom ceiling, and floor tiles. The color scheme is dark, cool, and unwelcoming. The room felt cramped and stuffy. I did not enjoy staying at this hotel, and I won't be returning. Very overpriced ($220 per night).

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank monkeylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

The staff was very helpful, and the new remodel is great!
a nice quiet hotel w/ plesant surroundings and close to everything.
our 2nd floor room was great , the view from 3rd floor veranda view was even more amazing.. next time 3rd floor for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank floradeportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

catalina was the worst hotel iv ever stayed in when iv went on holiday !WE certainly wuld not go bk there ever again!!!!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank ang08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

After reading other reviews regarding this property, I was concerned as to what we would find. We found out first hand that you can't always believe what you read!!!

This property was purchased by the new owners about 1-1/2 years ago. Since then, they have made changes for the better.

Although the building is old and need of a little paint here and there, our overall impression of the place is that it was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom was small but CLEAN! The lobby is adorable with a fireplace, old fashioned radio, chairs, and a small dining table to sit at to have a snack or play a game.

This hotel was only about a 5-10 minute walk from the boat landing, close to all the shops, and the casino (very important to us since we go for the Avalon Ball).

We thought that we got a very good deal and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelfun25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The staff was very nice and the room was clean. However, this hotel is a faded beauty. Improvements are cosmetic: once you scratch the surface, things are lacking. Room 313 was small - hardly any room around the bed to walk, nowhere to put luggage or clothes... but there's a huge flat screen TV (priorities?!). Bathroom was clean, but shower curtain clings to you. Pillows on bed were flat. We paid for a view room, and looked out onto ugly walls & fire escape. While the exterior paint was new, the decorations and fake flowers on balconies were faded (weird fake deer in the gardens). The soda machine was too expensive at $2 per can, and it ate our money anyway (we got refunded). Breakfast room was adorable... the food was only donuts & small styrofoam cups of coffee. Location was good enough - Avalon is small so everything is close. Problems with internet access (signal hardly reaches 3rd floor rooms). In short: stay here, but only at a good price and don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

The customer service is the worst I've ever had in my experience. Debbie Kennedy which was the person who helped is one of the rudest people I've ever encountered. I tried addressing a credit issue and they were not helpful at all. I would be very careful when making business with this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank claudbelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £91 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing