We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly Not a Bad Choice”
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for a three night long weekend in May. My first advice is beware of the walk from the ferry if you have a lot of luggage. It's a good walk, with quite a little hill at the end. Our room was pretty small, but comfortable and we were lucky to have a nice view of the harbor from the third floor. The thing about this property that you have to know is, it's old. Not necessarily in a bad way, but some features, like the carpet are just a bit, well, tired. And it smells a little old, like your grandma's house. There appears to be an effort to keep things maintained, some things are a little behind. It's not in the middle of town, but it's within easy walking distance of everything. I did appreciate a few nice gestures, like really good coffee and donuts in the lobby in the morning and cold water available all day. The staff were friendly and helpful if we approached them. In short it's a place in which I would absolutely stay again if I we go to Avalon, but not the kind of hotel that would drawn me back to Avalon.

Room Tip: Third floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

great little place, smells a bit cuz of the new paint, overall ok for $85/night,+ close to vons..
higher floor has good view but costs more. bedsheets are old school..no telephone..has a lil pool......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decided to visit Catalina Island with some friends over Memorial Day. this hotel was offered through one of the packages. It is a 100 year old building. Very clean but showing some wear. Guest rooms are very small and bathrooms will remind you of being on a cruise ship. Pluses were views of the harbor from our room and the lovely porches on each level. Coffee each morning was great and front desk staff overall were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for exploring the main part of Avalon.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 859cherylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Catalina for my In-Laws 50th Wedding Anniversary. Check in was fast and easy. Our room was clean & comfortable. Unfortunately my husbands favorite shirt was forgotten in the room. I have called the hotel several times and no one answers. When I leave a message, the call does not get returned. I have also emailed to no avail!! We plan on returning to Catalina Island for a longer stay but will DEFINATELY NOT stay at the Hotel Catalina!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I liked this hotel; rooms were clean and hotel service was also good but it was too far from the shore. We needed to get buggy for it but then we walked from hotel to the shore restaurants for dinner and lunch. I love this island it is one of the beautiful and quite islands in california. I would really recommend this hotel because all you do on this island is trekking; snorkeling and all so it doesn't really matters whether the hotel is good or not. But rooms were clean and livable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoojaSingh889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Although I've lived in L.A. all my life, was my very first visit to Catalina Island! The Hotel Catalina was clean, quaint and very quiet. The close proximity to shopping and other attractions, as well as nice garden fireplace made my stay even better. The only down side was the unfriendly receptionist who checked me in when I arrived on 4/23 around 5:15 p.m. Otherwise the stay was pleasant and comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank irtorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for my birthday and had a wonderful time. They give 50% off of your trip on the Catalina Exspress. Hotel was very charming and quite. diffantly will come back with my family. the price was pretty reasonable too.

Room Tip: stayed near the jaquzzi on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peachesncream25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £91 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing