We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would not recommend this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Although the location is good, I would not recommend this hotel. It is old and dirty. Our room was teeny tiny, and the dirty bathroom was even smaller. There was no water pressure and very loud running water all night which made sleeping almost impossible. The room was really stuffy and hot. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff was less than impressive and not accomodating. Pay a little more and enjoy beautiful Catalina.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHC, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Our hotel was established 1892 and the same build and layout as nowadays was rebuild and structured in1912 as a historic Victorian style. Within recent 2 years we have been put a lot of effort and do our best to update our hotel such as changing all the furniture, beds, flat screen TV, repainting rooms, and so on. However, the size of hotel room and bathroom as original 1921 layout wasn’t the project we’re able to redone unless we tear down the building and restructure. We try to keep the historic Victorian style hotel as it was on the Catalina Island and change the part we’re able to update. Also, we try our best to offer a more economic budget hotel for this tough economic time since it’s quite expensive for a couple or a family to visit the Catalina Island nowadays. We apologize any inconvenience and unpleasure experience we caused. We wish we could have done better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    61
    24
    17
    17
See reviews for
36
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

My husband, nephew and his fiance took the Catalina Flyer from Newport Beach to Catalina Island for the day. Once we arrived there, we decided to stay the night. We stopped to eat at the El Galleon, awesome food and insanely huge beer. We asked our waiter where to stay and he called the Hotel Catalina for us. We walked the few short blocks there, we warnly greeted and quoted a ridiculously reasonable price for the night. We were checked in to Cottage A. The rooms were clean, cute and very comfortable. Front desk staff was wonderful. What a fun place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I decided to visit this Hotel in person because I had someone rude answer me in emails. Went there and asked a lot of questions. Saw the Hotel first hand. It is old which they try to pass off as something cool, but really it is just a run down old hotel with a rude staff. Even in person the staff was not into their jobs and did not care if you stayed there or not. They must be all under paid because they are not enjoying their jobs at all. From what I saw and heard the girlfreind and I decided to go somewhere else. Worth paying a little more then to stay here. Do yourself a favor a skip this Hotel no matter how much more you have to spend. I talked to a few guests that were not too happy either. I did find one that seem to like it. It was a family with a bunch of little kids running around up and down the stairs and screeming. The staff did nothing and could not care less. So if you are poor, and can't afford a decent place to stay, and don't get out much so anything looks good, this could be your place. Noisy, dirty, bad customer service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolbassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked the honeymoon cottage for the evening of our daughters wedding and when there, decided to book it for the evening before so she could use it to get ready for the wedding.

The cottage was better than expected!! It was so adorable and although the patio and jacuzzi in front of the cottage was open to all guests, it felt very secluded and private.

It has a small living room, cute, efficent bathroom and a separate bedroom . . . plus a premium on the island . . an air conditioner in the bedroom.

The staff was amazingly nice and accomdating, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. The lobby is gorgeous and the entire facility was pin neat and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalaVarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I wrote to ask about staying one night instead of two as they seem to force you to do. Got a rude email back and told me to go somewhere else. That kind of sums up their attitudes there. Not good at all.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We read so many of the reviews of where to stay with our grandchildren and we could not have stayed in a better location: value, cleanliness, pleasant personel, hot tub, lockers to stow your bags so you could stay late on the beach. I recommend the premium package. All is included and it is a great deal. My grandchildren were so excited to stay there. The beds are so comfortable too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank powderpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

paid I think $120 for a small room. Had tv, fridge and dvd player. bathroom had claw tub, which was nice and huge. Only disappointment as it was "off season", the staff left and they had to manually turn on the heat and it was FREEZING!!! And the other complaint is that the jacuzzi wasn't hot, which we were REALLY looking forward to. Ah well.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CrystiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Property: Hotel Catalina
Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing