We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Dirty, outdated condo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Cove Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had a one bedroom condo with a dirty kitchenette. The outdoor deck was covered in bird droppings, and the floor was crusty with dirt. The bed had hair in it and the bathrooms were gross. The condo came with a golf cart for our stay, which was fun. But the rest of the condo was awful, the worst hotel/condo experience I've ever had

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John Paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submitt a review for your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of you Villa. This certainly is not the standard for our properties. Please come back and see is and if at any point you have an issues with your Villa please call asap and we will respond quickly to ensure your stay with us is enjoyable.

Thanks Again,

Catalina Island Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Hamilton Cove Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

From the outside, the Hamilton Cove Villas are stunning and really beautiful. You can't get a better ocean view. Our family of 3 rented room 2-33, not sure what the previous "reviewer" was looking at, but it was awful, awful, awful! We walked in to a room with trash on the coffee table, the couch was disgusting and dirty, the carpet under the dining room table and bedroom where very stained and dirty. (I did not want to eat looking at that carpet through that glass dining table.) There was no way I would cook or even heat up food in the kitchen or use any of the mismatched kitchenware. For glassware, we could choose from the plastic, in-town, "free cup with drink" cups or the 1 plastic margarita cup. Did i mention the hairs in the bed? I was almost in tears, especially with what we had paid for the room, 60 days in advance. CIVR manager quickly moved us to 1-56 which was only slightly better. 1-56 has no where to set anything down in the bathroom, the TV in the bedroom made a very loud humming when turned on, and my socks were black when I walked around the place(I sure wasn't going barefoot). There was also so much dust under the valances in the bedroom and on the bathroom sliding door(in the molding).Luckily my parents were in room 2-31 which was better and we spent most of our time over there. These owners really need to "gut" these circa 1985 condos and do some updating. Also, the $110 "cleaning" fee is a joke because these places sure aren't being cleaned. I want so bad to like these places because of the gorgeous balconies and views, but they are making it very difficult. The golf cart was a highlight and we really enjoyed going into town. If the owners of these units would update furniture and carpets and management would enforce the cleaning, this would be a perfect getaway! Beware of 2-33 and 1-56!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donna015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your response. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your villa. This is not to the level of cleaniness that we strive to provide. If for any reason you have a issue with the cleaniness of you Villa call us asap and we will do our best to quickly address. I have discussed these issues with our housekeeping staff. And also with the owners of the villa for the need to do some updating.

Regards,

CIVR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I can't wait to come back and stay at Hamilton Cove again. Our villa 2-33 was absolutely fantastic. My experience with CIVR (rental agency) from beginning to end was very pleasant and easy. We found and booked the place online, Chay emailed us the documents that needed to be signed and sent back, and when we showed up, we picked up the keys and that was that! Rental includes a golf cart which is an absolute must to wander and explore the island Do not limit yourself to town! There is so much to experience and see on the island and in all the accessible nooks and crannies. At $30 - $40 an hour to rent a cart in town, make sure you factor this in to your budget. We rolled around all over the place.

A (1980's but clean and functional) washer and dryer are available. Ours was shared and located just across the corridor. Views from this room were unobstructed and just beautiful during the day, and at night. Huge balcony and a shared charcoal grill.

Room Tip: Villa 2-33 rocks! Just a note - there are about 70 steps to go up and down to get to this villa from...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Checked in to our room and found it filthy. Yellow stains on the couch ETC. Luckily a friendly man Denny upgraded us (free of charge) to the finest suite. FANTASTIC place! Individual rooms, free wifi, TV's, movie collection, free golf cart.

We will def be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyTartol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Yes it's expensive. Yes you have to start the laundry, throw out the trash yourself and clean up a bit on check out day. Yes you have to climb numerous stairs to get anywhere.

But you are on a cliff, with a private beach, pool, fitness center and clubhouse. You go to sleep at night with the door open to the gentle breeze and lapping waves and no other sounds.

You have your cocktail on your deck or rock in the glider reading your novel, looking up occasionally to gaze at the azure water.

You hop in the golf cart to go into town for supplies and then hurry back to paradise.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Someone referred to Catalina Island as the "best kept secret that everyone knows about" and that sums it up. An hour boat ride takes you away from the city and into this lost in time paradise where golf carts rule the road. My daughter said it reminded her of an adult Toon Town.

If you have been to Avalon/Catalina before and felt the downtown hotels are a bit small, expensive, and noisy, consider renting at Hamilton Cove. Its a totally different experience and provides you with the freedom to do everything or nothing.

2-28 was perfect for our family. It is definitely designed for renting (which I like) in the sense that there are none of the personal items that I usually find a little awkward (like family pictures, knick knacks, and all sort of "house rules"). The view is spectacular and we liked the location because it was close to the pool and fitness room. The set up for this unit (2 full bathrooms) is perfect for a family. However, if you are two couples trying to make a go of this unit, I would suggest you pony up for a 2 bedroom.

The kitchen had the essentials with plenty of dishes, glasses, silverware. The Master Bed was comfortable and had a view and small balcony which many other 1 bedroom units did not have.
If I had a teeny complaint it was nothing to do with this unit at all but rather the way these condos were all built and that is, the balconys are connected in many units, so if you have neighbors, don't talk about anything you don't want them to hear. Our friends didn't even have a partition between their balconys. (2-28 does).

I concur with the previous reviewer that a few beach chairs would have been nice and a kayak would have exceeded all expectations (not sure where they would have kept it though) - but otherwise this was a wonderful, clean, and well stocked unit. Our group rented three different units so I was able to compare and contrast them - and of course its the topic of poolside conversation ("which unit did you rent? how many stairs?" answer: 52 steps).

Thanks to Catalina Vacations for suggesting this unit and for making the reservation process so efficient. We will be back and hope 2-28 is available.

Room Tip: If someone can't make the climb up 52 steps, this one might be a struggle. I heard Building 10 i...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liadsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Each unit is unique in this Complex. This is what our experiences were with this particular unit...
We booked this 1 bedroom, 2-story Unit for 3 nights in August and the weather could not have been better for our stay! While the units don't have A/C, the ocean breeze and ceiling fans kept the unit cool during our big California heat wave. :) This unit has a King size bed in the bedroom, a murphy bed in the dining nook and a sofa bed in the Living Room, so both kids were happy they didn't have to sleep together! The unit has been fairly recently updated, but being a rental shows... The dishwasher only worked when it wanted to - which made me leery about using the glassware and utensils that someone else had washed prior to our arrival. The unit has two bathrooms (shower upstairs) and full bath (with tub) in the downstairs bedroom. However... the tub was NOT usable because the overflow/tub stopper cover had been removed so the tub drain could not be closed. This meant I had to force my 6 year old to take a shower (he HATES showers!). Anyone with very young children should not stay in this unit until they fix this. There were some puzzles, games, putters and golf balls (and free wi-fi, lots of cable TV channels and free long distance and local calling). I wish there had been some beach chairs and beach towels (and maybe tennis raquets/balls, a kayak or some floaties...?). The washer and dryer are located in the hallway outside the unit. I had intended on using them, but there was a note on the washer (from the previous occupant?) that said the washing machine didn't work. I used the dryer to dry our towels and swimsuits but didn't risk using the washer. I wish there had been a form for me to fill out with suggestions, etc. so I could have indicated the items that needed fixing.
This unit overlooks the pool, which we usually like so we can check out how full it is before we head down. However, it did tend to get a bit loud (and the pool is pretty small). Being that this is one of the lower units and the golf carts park down below, you also get some noise from the carts (including the BEEPing they all do when they back up). As in all of Hamilton Cove, be prepared for stairs - that's a given. But there aren't too many, since this unit is pretty low. It also has a good ocean view.
Check-in is supposed to be at 4:00, but we were able to get in before 1:00. Check-out is 10:00 - which is EARLY when your boat doesn't leave until 4:30! (The taxi ride to/from the boat or the taxi stop in town was $20+ each way!)
The "private beach" is all rocks (as is all of Catalina, it seems). The only sand to lay on is across the roadway by the BBQ's. There was really nowhere for us to let the kids go in the water and for us to be able to sit and watch them.
Overall, we were treated well by the Management Company and had a great time at Hamilton Cove! It seems expensive, but if you plan on spending more than a day or two on the island it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Lower units get more noise from the golf carts. The units near the pool tend to get the typical pool...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £110 - £737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals offers a wide selection of vacation lodging on Catalina Island with nearly 200 privately owned properties, ranging from our beautiful villas at Hamilton Cove to quaint cottages, houses and condos in the charming resort village of Avalon, California. CIVR now offer two beautiful casas in Two Harbors, located on Catalina’s remote West End. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing