We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Without all the stairs...definitely a 5 Star!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Cove Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Without all the stairs...definitely a 5 Star!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We shared a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom condo with 2 other couples. The view was amazing and the accommodations were excellent! My only regret was all of the stairs. There are no elevators and it was approximately 70 stair steps to our condo. Just keep that in mind. Some condos have entrances straight from the road, but the vast majority do not.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nanawuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    43
    16
    14
    4
See reviews for
68
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. The condo (though dated in the kitchen) was bright, sunny and clean. It suited our needs overlooking the water and a great view of the cove. Saw dolphins from our patio and enjoyed the fireplace and star gazing at night. We did make use of the pool and hottub which we were able to enjoy undisturbed due to visiting in the January off-season. The golf cart though old was very useful for tooling around town and to the grocery/restaurants but getting gas proved a little complicated as the station is on the other end of town and open only limited hours (you must refill the tank before departure or there is a $50 charge). We had to drive over at 7 AM but the station didn't sell gas until 7:30 AM. We had an 8 AM ferry ride back to the main land and were able to just make it due to the wonderful taxi driver that sped us from the villas to our boat with 5 minutes to spare. This was a wonderful romantic getaway. The only thing that I would say was a little disappointing was that though the morning sun was excellent and we enjoyed breakfast on the patio, the condo did not get afternoon sun so I may try building #18 units on my next visit for better alfresco dining in the evening. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had a one bedroom condo with a dirty kitchenette. The outdoor deck was covered in bird droppings, and the floor was crusty with dirt. The bed had hair in it and the bathrooms were gross. The condo came with a golf cart for our stay, which was fun. But the rest of the condo was awful, the worst hotel/condo experience I've ever had

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John Paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submitt a review for your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of you Villa. This certainly is not the standard for our properties. Please come back and see is and if at any point you have an issues with your Villa please call asap and we will respond quickly to ensure your stay with us is enjoyable.

Thanks Again,

Catalina Island Vacation Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

From the outside, the Hamilton Cove Villas are stunning and really beautiful. You can't get a better ocean view. Our family of 3 rented room 2-33, not sure what the previous "reviewer" was looking at, but it was awful, awful, awful! We walked in to a room with trash on the coffee table, the couch was disgusting and dirty, the carpet under the dining room table and bedroom where very stained and dirty. (I did not want to eat looking at that carpet through that glass dining table.) There was no way I would cook or even heat up food in the kitchen or use any of the mismatched kitchenware. For glassware, we could choose from the plastic, in-town, "free cup with drink" cups or the 1 plastic margarita cup. Did i mention the hairs in the bed? I was almost in tears, especially with what we had paid for the room, 60 days in advance. CIVR manager quickly moved us to 1-56 which was only slightly better. 1-56 has no where to set anything down in the bathroom, the TV in the bedroom made a very loud humming when turned on, and my socks were black when I walked around the place(I sure wasn't going barefoot). There was also so much dust under the valances in the bedroom and on the bathroom sliding door(in the molding).Luckily my parents were in room 2-31 which was better and we spent most of our time over there. These owners really need to "gut" these circa 1985 condos and do some updating. Also, the $110 "cleaning" fee is a joke because these places sure aren't being cleaned. I want so bad to like these places because of the gorgeous balconies and views, but they are making it very difficult. The golf cart was a highlight and we really enjoyed going into town. If the owners of these units would update furniture and carpets and management would enforce the cleaning, this would be a perfect getaway! Beware of 2-33 and 1-56!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your response. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your villa. This is not to the level of cleaniness that we strive to provide. If for any reason you have a issue with the cleaniness of you Villa call us asap and we will do our best to quickly address. I have discussed these issues with our housekeeping staff. And also with the owners of the villa for the need to do some updating.

Regards,

CIVR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I can't wait to come back and stay at Hamilton Cove again. Our villa 2-33 was absolutely fantastic. My experience with CIVR (rental agency) from beginning to end was very pleasant and easy. We found and booked the place online, Chay emailed us the documents that needed to be signed and sent back, and when we showed up, we picked up the keys and that was that! Rental includes a golf cart which is an absolute must to wander and explore the island Do not limit yourself to town! There is so much to experience and see on the island and in all the accessible nooks and crannies. At $30 - $40 an hour to rent a cart in town, make sure you factor this in to your budget. We rolled around all over the place.

A (1980's but clean and functional) washer and dryer are available. Ours was shared and located just across the corridor. Views from this room were unobstructed and just beautiful during the day, and at night. Huge balcony and a shared charcoal grill.

Room Tip: Villa 2-33 rocks! Just a note - there are about 70 steps to go up and down to get to this villa from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Checked in to our room and found it filthy. Yellow stains on the couch ETC. Luckily a friendly man Denny upgraded us (free of charge) to the finest suite. FANTASTIC place! Individual rooms, free wifi, TV's, movie collection, free golf cart.

We will def be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyTartol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Yes it's expensive. Yes you have to start the laundry, throw out the trash yourself and clean up a bit on check out day. Yes you have to climb numerous stairs to get anywhere.

But you are on a cliff, with a private beach, pool, fitness center and clubhouse. You go to sleep at night with the door open to the gentle breeze and lapping waves and no other sounds.

You have your cocktail on your deck or rock in the glider reading your novel, looking up occasionally to gaze at the azure water.

You hop in the golf cart to go into town for supplies and then hurry back to paradise.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,099 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Property: Hamilton Cove Villas
Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals offers a wide selection of vacation lodging on Catalina Island with nearly 200 privately owned properties, ranging from our beautiful villas at Hamilton Cove to quaint cottages, houses and condos in the charming resort village of Avalon, California. CIVR now offer two beautiful casas in Two Harbors, located on Catalina’s remote West End. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing