We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Excellent condo with perfect views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Cove Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent condo with perfect views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We booked several condos for my daughters wedding and simply loved each one! Being the mother of the bride I scored the best one with spectacular views of the condos below as well as the beach and ocean. I wish we had more time to spend in the condo but I was busy with activities. The golf cart is a plus but the condo is beautiful
and well furnished with everything you could need even a. washer and dryer!
Im planning a girls weekend in the future there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soarinval12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    42
    15
    14
    4
See reviews for
65
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

So if you are looking for a perfect vacation in california, you've found it!!! Nothing can beat Hamilton Cove for accommodations on Catalina. Check in was very simple. When you get off the boat go directly to the office. Don't call to ask if it's ready, just show up there. We stored our luggage for 6 bucks a bag and then went to lunch but we could've just gone to the office. If you get seasick I highly suggesting getting the prescription patch before you go. I did and I had no problem on the boat. Things to keep in mind before you go. If you plan on snorkeling or swimming try to get a wetsuit ahead of time. The water was chilly. Also bring water shoes for the rocky beaches and snorkel equipment. Everything costs more on the island. I suggest making one suitcase just for this kind of stuff. There is no room service but you can go into town to a grocery store. WE ate out 3 times and ate in 3 times. The rooms all have bbq's but one night we bbq'd on the beach by the playground. It was amazing. Also bring collapsable fishing poles if you can because you can fish right off the dock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boots279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have rented at Hamilton Cove for the past 15 years. This condo is a great location on the top floor of building 10. I have rented twice before in this same building. Unfortunately the inside of this condo needs a serious cleaning, the linens were stained, the pullout sofa in the living room was filthy, stained and the bed part was broken. There were enough pillows for our party of 5 but not enough pillow cases. The carpets need a serious cleaning, deep cleaning or replacement. The bedding needs a through washing as well. Too bad because the place could be spectacular with a little updating and care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

After saving all my mad money we finally made it here. And my first thoughts when we arrived were no way but its exactly like the pictures and even better if possible. This place had everything that you needed but a potatoe peeler. Which became a our joke. The view was amazing the bed super comfortable. The kitchen completely remodeled with beautiful dishes, wine glasses no kidding it was perfect. The golf cart fun fun fun. This place was so wonderful we already booked the same place next year ♥

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1discomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This villa was incredible in terms of location, location, location. The bldg has an elevator. The first night we saw dolphins, seals and leopard sharks from our balcony! Amenities at Hamilton Cove were fantastic. Playground for the kids, quiet, snorkeling, dock to fish, pool/spa, workout room, crochet, golf cart, etc. Lots of fun! Great for fams.

Now the bad...Like most of the reviews, we too were disappointed with the cleanliness. Actually, it was bad. To sum it up, they need to hire a new housekeeping crew. The day we left, I looked under the bed to make sure I didn't forget a pair of socks, and I found (to my horror) dead bugs, wrappers, food, and just junk underneath it. Housekeeping hadn't vacummed underneath the bed in probably ages. The kitchen and main living areas were nice. The carpet and bathrooms needed a deep cleaning. One of the extra linens stunk and had yellow spots. I was scared to use it on anyone. I would have assumed that at the beginning of the season, they would have done a thorough cleaning and then the lazy housekeeping crews could just do a cursory wipe down btwn turnovers.

The sofa pullout was disgusting and inoperable. The aero bed was cool but had a leak. They brought us an air mattress when we called the next day, so that was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeNC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review, 30 April 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review this villa. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals proudly manages this beautiful oceanfront villa.

First, housekeeping has been notified about your feedback. Also, since your stay, this villa has been nicely refreshed! It has brand new carpeting, a new living room set and sofa bed with gel mattress, two electric wall mounted Japanese fireplaces, and much more. We'd love to welcome you back to this villa during your next trip to Catalina.

Best,
CIVR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This two bedroom two bath penthouse is located in a great area which is oceanfront. I've stayed at several other units and this is by far one of the best locations. It's well-stocked in the kitchen and has all the amenities you will need. I was only disappointed about the cleanliness from housekeeping. Golf carts old but works. You'll definitely enjoy it!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We just returned from our second visit to Catalina Island and Hamilton Cove. This trip we stayed for five nights in unit number 2-42, a one bedroom, one bath condo with no in unit laundry facility. Overall we had a pleasant stay, the condo was clean and the furnishings were in (mostly) good repair. The kitchen appliances are very dated, probably the original ones fron the early eightys. The dishwashed worked fine, the microwave does not have a turntable, the refrigerator looks newer than the rest of the kitchen. White carpet most everywhere and a dozen or more signs telling you to remove your shoes while you are in the condo.
The balcony is a nice size with great views and comfortable seating. No TV in the main living room, but there is a small one in the sitting room and a larger one in the bedroom (you probably won't be watching a lot of TV, the views are too nice).
The golf car will hold four people, but it is very old and doesn't run very well. We were only comfortable taking it to town and back, no extra exploring this time!
Also, no cell phone service in Hamilton Cove, so plan accordingly. There is a land line phone in the condo and you can pay for wireless internet service if needed.
All in all, a nice place to stay if you are just wanting to get away from it all and relax.

Room Tip: Pictures of most of the rentable condos are on line at Hamilton Cove real estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank AZToolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Property: Hamilton Cove Villas
Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals offers a wide selection of vacation lodging on Catalina Island with nearly 200 privately owned properties, ranging from our beautiful villas at Hamilton Cove to quaint cottages, houses and condos in the charming resort village of Avalon, California. CIVR now offer two beautiful casas in Two Harbors, located on Catalina’s remote West End. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing