We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun way to tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalina Segways

Catalina Segways
Ranked #23 of 42 Outdoor Activities in Avalon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily guided tours in and around the environs of Avalon that include the history of Santa Catalina Island and the town of Avalon. An exciting, memorable, outdoor excursion for those adventurous enough to try something new.An effortless, safe, fun way to explore a unique environment with enthusiastic, friendly, entertaining guides. Catalina Segways is the Island Of Romance's exclusive Segway experience.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fun way to tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We took the tour as part of package deal and off season it was only my wife and I which made it even more fun. Never having been on a Segway before didn't matter, the staff took the time to make sure we were comfortable on the machines before hitting the road. Once on the road our guide Dan made sure to check on us often and made sure to share his knowledge of the island and places as we rode around the city. If your in Avalon and want to try out a Segway and have a bit of fun stop by and see the folks at Catalina Segway.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“OK but a bit boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I have taken Segway tours in other cities and have always really enjoyed them. This tour, the guide was very informative but the sites were a bit boring. Should have taken us to more sites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussie1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Grandma, grandpa, grandson and friend (12, 13) took the 1.5 hour tour. It was not so much about the sights, but riding the segways. A lot of fun and easy. The kids only talked about going back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Was so excited when i read there was an Extreme Offroad Segway tour and we were not disappointed. It was just the two of us and the tour was lead by the owner Joe. He gave us a personnel history tour of the island and more importantly led us down some fun trails. I have ridden on a segway multiple times, but this was my first offroad trip. Great views of Avalonas well as saw a number of deer. I highly recommend this tour as it was my highlight of the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Offroading on a Segway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a bucket list item for us and it did not disappoint. After a few minutes of practice it was super easy and was even more fun than it looks. We drove up past the golf course to the botanical gardens then went off-road heading back towards the beach. The views are incredible, the scent of sage was great and the guide, Skip, was really informative and fun. This is definitely a "must do" while visiting Avalon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catalina Segways also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Segways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing