We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for breakfast or lunch!”

Original Jack's Country Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Jack's was great! We ate here twice during our stay -- once for breakfast, once for lunch. We had excellent service from Daniel, a great selection to please everyone, and very good food.
The secret is out because this was the most popular place on Sunday morning.
We really enjoyed it and recommend you go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    156
    69
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont understand the decor of this place”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We walked in thinking this place would be the best for hearty pancakes and yummy coffee but we were wrong! Food is average nothing special.The place is suffering an identity crisis. Our paper place mats were Western cowboys, the wall decor is old Hollywood celebrity photos, the shelf above the condiments were half body New Orleans musicians and then on the opposite wall fish decor. Didnt quite understand it.

Helpful?
Thank Denisse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I would come here again”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The food was great. We sat at the bar and saw how clean everything is in the kitchen. The workers worked non stop to make sure everyone got served and was happy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank N_Yates14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I loved the hustle and bustle of Jack's Country Kitchen! Even more, I loved the service and food.

These folks know how to treat you right while running a busy restaurant. The place was packed, but our coffee cups never got low. Our server was the sweetest gal on the Island.

The "Avalon Joe's" dish was very good. Scrambled eggs with ground beef, onions, spinach and salsa! The fresh fruit was tasty, as well.

I will certainly eat at Jack's Country Kitchen during my next trip to Avalon.

Dave

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Replacement for Sallys”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Since Sally's was forced out of business, we tried this place for the first time. Food good and selection is plentiful. Here on 4th of July, and the wait was long, but hostess and staff are nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Jack's Country Kitchen also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Original Jack's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing