We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

The Original Ghost Tours of Catalina
Ranked #25 of 52 Tours in Avalon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A day or evening ghostly walking tour which will guide you through haunted Avalon; over the very burial ground the village was built upon. You will drop in on a variety of historic locations which are sure to raise the hair on your neck with their paranormal activity. You will become entwined with the unsolved mysteries, scandalous tales, ghostly sightings, types of ghosts and why they continue to haunt Avalon. Cameras are encouraged. Nothing is made up. It is historic, educational and crazy wild when we have an encounter. The tours last just over an hour and are “G Rated for Ghostly” and are great for families as well as for the serious paranormal investigator or amateur ghost hunter. Tours meet near the Casino and come back into town with some stairs involved. The tour ends at the opposite side of town at the most actively haunted site in town.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
TRACY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We thought it was going to be scary and haunted, but it was just a walk and listening about old trails of the island.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank COOLDUDE0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick A, Owner at The Original Ghost Tours of Catalina, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
We apologize that we weren't able to frighten you as much as we have other guests. We constantly improve our tour and are always looking for new ways to engage our guests with an exciting time. Since 2013 we have been ranked Top 10 Best Ghost Tour in the United States and would love to see you on our tour again some time. Thank you for taking the time to review the Original Ghost Tour of Catalina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    7
    7
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Constance is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our guide was great! She was very insightful and very knowledgeable, answering our random questions thoughouly. She was mindful not to give gory murder details with the small children around, but let us adults know them later if we asked. She was nice and very well spoken! My husband and I enjoyed ourselves immensely and cannot say enough good things about constance!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cakapracorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun and informational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We took the tour as part of a package. My wife and I have never done a ghost tour and thought it would be fun to see what it was all about. We met Lili; our guide at 8:30 PM in front of the Casino and were asked to wear a glow necklace to identify those in the group. Lili also works another tour group so she is very informed on the history of the island which is what we were hoping to gain from the experience. Although no ghostly happenings were apparent during our tour we did have a good time learning about not only the tainted history of the island but also the daily life of the famous visitors of the past. Others commented about being heckled during the tour and we did experience this once but I was better at it than he was so he quickly quieted down.
My one recommendation to the tour group would be to loose the glow sticks which invite others to single out the group.
If you go in to the tour looking for fun and information you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the $15 for a guided walk around town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our guide was was very nice and patient with all the questions. I think ghost walks are more entertaining when the guides dress up in period costume (victorian would likely be appropriate for Catalina) and have a flair for the dramatic. It was odd to be heckled while on the tour and even the local policeman made a joke about us having been robbed because we paid for the tour. But I still would recommend this tour and feel it was fairly priced. We saw parts of town that we wouldn't have found on our own and it was a nice way to spend an hour. It sparked our interest to learn more about Catalina's history so we bought a couple books on the subject.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank greenwavecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spooky fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The island lore is a big attraction to me, so I thought this tour was great! I was fascinated by stories and the evening walk was pleasant. Constance was our tour guide and I liked her.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinSDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Ghost Tours of Catalina also viewed

 

Been to The Original Ghost Tours of Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing