We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey but good”
Review of Avalon Grille

Avalon Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Avalon Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Catalina Avenue
Description: Avalon's waterfront dining, located at the foot of the Green Pleasure Pier, is open seven days a week for lunch (Fri-Sun) and dinner with a lively, central bar and open air dining. The Avalon Grille features American regional dishes with a seasonal approach, paired with a world class selection of wines, micro-brew beers and cocktails in a casual and fun "al fresco" atmosphere overlooking Avalon Bay. The Avalon Grille boasts a fabulous menu including Miso Cured Bass, Lavender Roast Chicken and our famous Roasted Brussels Sprouts.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have had a few meals here. It seems to be the classiest place on the island. This place like most of the others is owned by the Island company. They seem to be controling most places on the front street. I had a great hamburger. It even came with a free theater ticket! I guess that justified the price.

Thank dougrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Grille
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 477 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

After hearing a negative review from a local, we were a little leery about our reservation for eleven that night, Soo glad we went! Comfortable seating, great service (young, little blonde waitress), varied choices; delicious Cobb and Caesar salads, chicken vegetable soup, green beans, Lobster mac and cheese, and three folks couldn't say enough about the brussel sprouts. It was noisy near the bar because the Warriors were playing the Clippers, but after the game, talking at the long table was easy. There was some trouble with the reservation and we had to wait a half hour to be seated, but the staff realized their error and bent over backward to make our experience enjoyable.

Thank wlighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us while on the island. We were happy to serve you and your party. My apologies for the mix up with the reservation; however, I am happy to hear that the rest of your experience was great. I will let your server know that she helped to make your experience memorable. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A little pricey but worth it for us. This is one of the few spots in Avalon that is open for those of us who choose to eat after 8 pm. Eve on a Thursday night this town seems to close up pretty early for diners.

Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at the Avalon Grille. We were happy that we were able to accommodate you. Please come back and see us on your next trip to Catalina Island!

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We sat down to a beautiful view and a nicely set table. We ordered a bottle of wine and since we were enjoying the ambiance and wine so much we sat for an hour and a half enjoying the evening before we ordered our meal. The waitress and staff made sure we were taken care of at all times without making us feel bothered. Highley recomended!

Thank NMP3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining at the Avalon Grille on your recent trip to Catalina Island. Thank you for coming to see us! I am glad that you enjoyed your wine and our atmosphere before your dinner. We hope to see you again soon on the island.

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The ambiance was relaxed elegance. I loved the decor and location. We stopped in for drinks and appetizers. Loved the thai lime chicken wings and green beans. The hummus mezze was also tasty. The service was good but the waitress repeatedly asked us about our dinner choices. We were upfront when we arrived that our visit was for appetizers and drinks only. This will not stop us from returning because the food and drinks were excellent.

Thank malea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for stopping by the Avalon Grille for drinks and appetizers on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We also appreciate you posting about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope that on your next trip to the island that you come see us again!

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avalon Grille also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Avalon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing