We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, friendly and accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Catalina has always been one of our favorite "getaways" both as a family and now as "empty nesters." What a pleasant surprise to find the Hotel Villa Portofino just as accommodating for the one night anniversary celebration booking as it was when we booked the ocean view large family suite years ago. We had a courtyard room which was absolutely delightful where just a few feet outside our room was a charming seating area with chairs, tables and a shade canopy complete with a fountain, flowers and plants. The sundeck with a gorgeous ocean view on the upper level is outfitted with plenty of chairs, tables and loungers. The staff was friendly, efficient and welcoming. The morning continental breakfast was delicious and water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available throughout the day. The location on crescent ave is so nice because it is a midpoint allowing easy walking to the casino or back down crescent to shopping and restaurants. The Hotel Villa Portofino is our favorite place to stay when visiting Catalina.

Room Tip: The only advice I would give is that for most of the rooms you need to be able to walk up steps beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    140
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
255
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Fontana, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Most of us that travel occasionally for special occasions look for one thing in a hotel. We want it to be slightly more luxurious and or decorated a little better then our own home at a reasonable price. Many hotels over look this necessity to most travelers. Hotel Villa Portofino has the absolute perfect balance of both. The hotel was amazing, clean and well priced for what you are getting. The location is right at the end of the action of the strip giving you easy access as well as less foot traffic in front of you when you want to just sit and look at the ocean. The attached restaurant is truly amazing with a very romantic ambiance and food you will never forget. The sun deck on the 3rd floor has the most amazing view and great cabana's with padded loungers. The staff is friendly and helpful. The included continental breakfast was perfect. I can not imagine staying anywhere else in Catalina for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We studied hotels for our return trip to Catalina. We stayed at the Portofino. I am so glad we did. We had a grand time, for a decent price. It was conveniently located. We had a very friendly sea gull at our railing. Know this will be our choice next time also.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel Villa Portofino is located right on the main boardwalk in Avalon. Great location near the water and about halfway between the Pleasure Pier and the Casino. The rooms were okay, a little outdated, but the bed was comfortable, the water pressure was good, and I liked having a little vanity to sit down at while getting ready. They have a decent continental breakfast and a nice little sundeck on the top floor that is open from 10am-10pm with chaise lounge chairs and a couple cabanas. What I really appreciated was that the hotel staff will hold your luggage near the front desk if you arrive before your check-in time, or have to check-out long before your boat leaves, and they have a bathroom you can use in the meantime as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The wife and decided to take a weekend trip with our baby, the hotel has nice spanish colonial style to it. We had the deluxe queen room,The amenities are pretty basic but the was great plus our room was right next to the big sun deck on the roof( which is the best part of the hotel). We just grabbed some wine from the Vons around the corner and sat and enjoyed! The only down side we had was it was a little pricey for the size of the room (really tiny and tight) and we had to haul our stroller and bags up three flights of stairs to get to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demons851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a girl's getaway here, and loved every single minute of our stay. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The beach is out the front door, and we took beach chairs and read by the sea. The location is perfect! We walked to the movies at night (loved Gone With The Wind) and hiked during the day. We also loved the breakfast and dined on the front patio with the bay as our view. The only downside: the sun deck was being "repaired" every time we tried to sit there (at least three times). Even still, the place is fabulous and we didn't miss much by not being able to enjoy the sundeck, but it was part of the reason we wanted to stay there in the first place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripmama18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Avalon. The style of the hotel and the neighborhood remind me of Europe. The view of the bay from the deck is heavenly. Just a short walk to anywhere you want to go in Avalon. Continental Breakfast is provided as well as a holding area for your luggage before check-in time and after check-out time until you catch your boat ride back to reality. I wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely come back. The package deal with the boat transportation included was a great deal.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice to me. I personally prefer to be upstairs so I don't have to hear people ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAYASister70128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing