We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel looks like a small European hotel with a courtyard in the middle and a roof deck with lounges and tables. The location is very good as it is in the far end of Crescent Avenue, away from the noise yet a short walk to the Casino and the Descanso Beach. Most of the rooms are next to the stairs so sometimes, you can see/hear guests as they walk by your room. Our room was dark, we had to leave the lights on during the day. and wi-fi was weak The bed was very comfortable, we all had a good night's sleep.Breakfast was continental and we sat at the patio one day and the courtyard the other day. We wanted to take our breakfast on the deck but it opens at 10 a.m. The cleaning crew could speed up on their work - our room was not cleaned when we came back from the beach at noon. Check out is at 11 a.m and we were allowed to stay for half an hour longer. We stored our luggage at the lobby and were able to use their restroom. In the afternoon, when we stopped by to pick up our luggage, we still had a little time and decided to hang out at the deck. We passed by our room and it was still not ready for their next guest. They should have allowed us to stay longer. Overall, we had a good experience and because of the location and value, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    144
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
95
264
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family booked 3 days stay for Memorial day weekend. The room and location were great. I was very disappointed with breakfast. It was served in the hotel lobby which is tiny. 3 types of pastry, which were far from great and coffee that was served in styrofoam cups. It was a bare minimum. From the amount of money we paid to stay in the hotel we expected some variety and a higher quality of service.
Check out time is 11am. Our ferry left @ 2.05 so I asked the the front desk guy if we can stay in our room till 1pm. I've stayed in many hotels in my life and if the hotel could, they would accommodate us but at least they would try. The guy was less than helpful. He said NO, you can't , that was it. It is a pity as it could have been perfect.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank irit r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank You for your positive comments regarding your room and our hotel's location.
You mentioned that the continental breakfast did not meet your expectations. We strive to
provide fresh scones, croissants, and 3 types of fresh baked muffins, and fresh fruit.
We continue to provide ceramic coffee mugs and trays in the guest rooms for your coffee each morning. We provide the styrofoam cups for those guests that want coffee "on the go".

We make every attempt to insure guests have an on-time check-in at 2:00pm. Our check out time is at 11:00am, giving us only 3 hours to clean the entire hotel. We have for all guests, use of free luggage storage, and full use of our sun-deck, free beach towels.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back

John LaFleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This place is perfect for a couple, family, individual, businessman/woman or whomever. Very appealing, professional staff, accomodating, friendly and worth every penny. The only reason why I gave 4 stars is due to small cosmetic things that I've seen in the hotel room. But this was the BEST deal that I found and worth every penny. Jenny at the front desk was very helpful as well as all of their staff. Loved, loved, loved this place and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.
I will pass along your "praise" toall of our Staff.
We hope to see you back on Catalina soon.

John LaFleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this property, but this time we got a more upgraded room. Amenities are adequate but not luxurious, continental breakfast offered very good croissants and muffins. However WiFi is very weak and inaccessible inside our room. We had to literally sit in the courtyard to go online. We didn't like the sliding door design to our room as we had to close the shutters for privacy, thus making the room dark. Also there were only 2 plugs to charge phones /electronics so we had to take turn charging. This time around, we heard a lot more street noise probably due to more vehicles in Avalon compared to our last visit, and the location of our room. Staffs were OK, not exceptional. There is an area to hold your luggage after check out or before check in, but no one monitors the area or keep luggage tags so store at your own risk! Overall we'd give it a 3 1/2 since there's room for improvement.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side street, it can get noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejoiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a great place to stay! Your staff is wonderful and we will be back. The rooms are clean and modern.

We didn't use any of the pool or fitness center we were busy everywhere else though.

There are a lot of stairs. The staff was so kind to accommodate us by giving us a room on a lower floor. It was great. Our friends have stayed here many times and bragged about the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Catalina has always been one of our favorite "getaways" both as a family and now as "empty nesters." What a pleasant surprise to find the Hotel Villa Portofino just as accommodating for the one night anniversary celebration booking as it was when we booked the ocean view large family suite years ago. We had a courtyard room which was absolutely delightful where just a few feet outside our room was a charming seating area with chairs, tables and a shade canopy complete with a fountain, flowers and plants. The sundeck with a gorgeous ocean view on the upper level is outfitted with plenty of chairs, tables and loungers. The staff was friendly, efficient and welcoming. The morning continental breakfast was delicious and water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available throughout the day. The location on crescent ave is so nice because it is a midpoint allowing easy walking to the casino or back down crescent to shopping and restaurants. The Hotel Villa Portofino is our favorite place to stay when visiting Catalina.

Room Tip: The only advice I would give is that for most of the rooms you need to be able to walk up steps beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fontana, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Most of us that travel occasionally for special occasions look for one thing in a hotel. We want it to be slightly more luxurious and or decorated a little better then our own home at a reasonable price. Many hotels over look this necessity to most travelers. Hotel Villa Portofino has the absolute perfect balance of both. The hotel was amazing, clean and well priced for what you are getting. The location is right at the end of the action of the strip giving you easy access as well as less foot traffic in front of you when you want to just sit and look at the ocean. The attached restaurant is truly amazing with a very romantic ambiance and food you will never forget. The sun deck on the 3rd floor has the most amazing view and great cabana's with padded loungers. The staff is friendly and helpful. The included continental breakfast was perfect. I can not imagine staying anywhere else in Catalina for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing