We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Setting”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was a return trip to the Villa Portofino for us. The location is great. It is easy to get around Avalon. Our package included round trip on the Catalina Express and taxi services to and from the hotel. The folks working there are very accomodating. Our room was small, but met our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank You for your positive comments regarding your recent return visit to The Hotel Villa Portofino. We appreciate your praises of our staff, and I will forward your comments on.
We look forward to your next visit to Catalina.
John LaFleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I booked this hotel the last minute before memorial day weekend as I wanted to beat the rush. The hotel room was warm and welcoming. There was nothing elaborate about it but at the same time it was clean and better than some of the other hotel rooms I saw online. I'm pretty picky about my rooms. I don't like worn out beds, dated rooms or dirty bathrooms. Didn't have to worry about that here. One thing to point out is that our shower faucet initially provided too much water force and as a result taking a shower was somewhat painful and uncomfortable. We complained about this to the front desk and housekeeping took care of the problem. After checking out some of the other hotels along the boardwalk, I believe that this hotel is definitely one of the top hotels to stay at on the island. Do not expect a typical beach resort on the island. The hotels on the island are very small and are more of bed and breakfast types. Other hotels you may want to also consider are the Pavillion and Snug Inn. I believe that the Snug Inn is under the same ownership as the Portofino. The Pavillion looks a little more upscale and is more pricier. A couple of things to note: Breakfast is continental and only consists of pastries, fruit, coffee and orange juice. There are plenty of breakfast places to check out for that. They are pretty strict with their check in and check out times. They will, however, allow you to keep your luggage in their lobby closet before you check in or until your ferry comes. All things considered, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imperialdragon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We enjoyed the Deluxe King, roomy, nice fireplace and air!The bathroom marble was amazing with enough fresh towels! Everything worked, the staff was very helpful and cheerful. The restaurant is very good and a must! Didn't try the continental breakfast, but the front patio is a great place to watch Catalina wake-up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RanboNPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel looks like a small European hotel with a courtyard in the middle and a roof deck with lounges and tables. The location is very good as it is in the far end of Crescent Avenue, away from the noise yet a short walk to the Casino and the Descanso Beach. Most of the rooms are next to the stairs so sometimes, you can see/hear guests as they walk by your room. Our room was dark, we had to leave the lights on during the day. and wi-fi was weak The bed was very comfortable, we all had a good night's sleep.Breakfast was continental and we sat at the patio one day and the courtyard the other day. We wanted to take our breakfast on the deck but it opens at 10 a.m. The cleaning crew could speed up on their work - our room was not cleaned when we came back from the beach at noon. Check out is at 11 a.m and we were allowed to stay for half an hour longer. We stored our luggage at the lobby and were able to use their restroom. In the afternoon, when we stopped by to pick up our luggage, we still had a little time and decided to hang out at the deck. We passed by our room and it was still not ready for their next guest. They should have allowed us to stay longer. Overall, we had a good experience and because of the location and value, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family booked 3 days stay for Memorial day weekend. The room and location were great. I was very disappointed with breakfast. It was served in the hotel lobby which is tiny. 3 types of pastry, which were far from great and coffee that was served in styrofoam cups. It was a bare minimum. From the amount of money we paid to stay in the hotel we expected some variety and a higher quality of service.
Check out time is 11am. Our ferry left @ 2.05 so I asked the the front desk guy if we can stay in our room till 1pm. I've stayed in many hotels in my life and if the hotel could, they would accommodate us but at least they would try. The guy was less than helpful. He said NO, you can't , that was it. It is a pity as it could have been perfect.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank irit r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank You for your positive comments regarding your room and our hotel's location.
You mentioned that the continental breakfast did not meet your expectations. We strive to
provide fresh scones, croissants, and 3 types of fresh baked muffins, and fresh fruit.
We continue to provide ceramic coffee mugs and trays in the guest rooms for your coffee each morning. We provide the styrofoam cups for those guests that want coffee "on the go".

We make every attempt to insure guests have an on-time check-in at 2:00pm. Our check out time is at 11:00am, giving us only 3 hours to clean the entire hotel. We have for all guests, use of free luggage storage, and full use of our sun-deck, free beach towels.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back

John LaFleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This place is perfect for a couple, family, individual, businessman/woman or whomever. Very appealing, professional staff, accomodating, friendly and worth every penny. The only reason why I gave 4 stars is due to small cosmetic things that I've seen in the hotel room. But this was the BEST deal that I found and worth every penny. Jenny at the front desk was very helpful as well as all of their staff. Loved, loved, loved this place and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.
I will pass along your "praise" toall of our Staff.
We hope to see you back on Catalina soon.

John LaFleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this property, but this time we got a more upgraded room. Amenities are adequate but not luxurious, continental breakfast offered very good croissants and muffins. However WiFi is very weak and inaccessible inside our room. We had to literally sit in the courtyard to go online. We didn't like the sliding door design to our room as we had to close the shutters for privacy, thus making the room dark. Also there were only 2 plugs to charge phones /electronics so we had to take turn charging. This time around, we heard a lot more street noise probably due to more vehicles in Avalon compared to our last visit, and the location of our room. Staffs were OK, not exceptional. There is an area to hold your luggage after check out or before check in, but no one monitors the area or keep luggage tags so store at your own risk! Overall we'd give it a 3 1/2 since there's room for improvement.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side street, it can get noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejoiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £89 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing