We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff and price!!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location, staff and price!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first time to travel to Catalina Island. Nine of us went for my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. This hotel was in the perfect location (walking distance to everything), had a nice patio dining for the complimentary cont.breakfast, very friendly staff and fairly priced. We loved that are rooms were located very close together. The view of the water was fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly.....I was desperate for a safety pin and they even helped me out with that! We will be back.....this was one of the best trips our family has ever taken together and Hotel Villa Portofino made that possible!

Room Tip: We really liked the rooms down on first level: quick in/out when getting stuff out of rooms. My par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    142
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
93
262
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location, the staff, the overall experience at the Hotel Villa Portofino can not be beat. In fact, my wife and I are already looking forward to next summers stay. Book a room at this hotel anytime during the warm months and expect to have a wonderful time in Avalon. This hotel has a sun deck that is perfect for sharing a nice bottle of wine and watch the sun set across the marina. When the shadow covers the pier we know its time to finisch that last glass and head for dinner. For fun in the sun there is nothing like Descanso Beach, and we recommend the newest dinning experience at the Blue Water (try the Salty Caramel martini). At the Potofino Luis is very courteous and very helpful with your day and nightime planning.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that are not suites, but have windows overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here! Great room (BelleVista) and great service. Would highly recommend it. Convenient to downtown Shops and Dining. The service was wonderful. The hotel had a nice continental breakfast, beach towels, beach chairs and always had great recommendations.

Room Tip: Belle Vista had a wonderful wrap around balcony with harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel Villa Portofino is a quaint and pleasant seaside hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of town but away from the crowds. The room we stayed in was a little small but very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a nice sundeck which offers a great place to relax with a glass of wine or to simply enjoy the sun and people watch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My girlfriend and I only stayed for one night. The staff allowed us to still use the hotel beach towels, chairs and to store our luggage even after we checked out until our boat departed later in the day. I thought this hotel was priced in line with the other hotels on the island, especially given the busy summer season. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Villa Portofino and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaM0nicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I love Hotel Villa Portofino! It's location is great! My room was wonderful with the most spectacular view of the water! The bed was super comfy and the room was so nice and clean! The bathroom was very clean and the water in the shower and faucets were all working perfectly. I really recommend this hotel! The staff was so kind and so helpful. Thank you to Zula, Luis, Grace for making our family vacation stay so nice! We look forward to staying at the Villa Portofino again. This hotel offered juice, coffee, pastries and fruit each morning.There is a beautiful sun deck with lounging chairs and tables offering the most spectacular view!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

While there is much to like about this hotel, given the cost, I would make a different decision. The very good is the location and friendliness of the staff. The hotel is at the far end of the main street, quiet and away from all of the bar crowds. The staff was incredibly welcoming. Complimentary continental breakfast is provided. My room was clean and well maintained, though small. I took the least expensive option, a first floor room with a queen bed. Unfortunately, the location of my room was quiet noisy - near the hotel entrance. Other reviewers have suggested staying on an upper level, which I would agree with but that increases the cost. In the addition, the walls are pretty thin and I was able to clear head the televison and conversation in the neighboring rooms. I also also heard footsteps from the room above me.

At the price point I paid, about $210 per night plus tax, there are nicer options.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on first floor and near the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel is located right on the beach. It is lovely- has a mediteranean feel. The staff were friendly, room were clean and we were lucky enough to get room 115- just steps to the beach. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 115- just steps from the street, office and no stairs- loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginger9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing